Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
207 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Francis Xavier School 5

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
My husband and I decided to enroll our four year old daughter in Pre-K at St. Francis Xavier due to its convenient location and reasonable tuition (just slightly more than Forest Glen's Pre-K program which is part of the Bloomfield public school system). We also loved the idea of having our daughter receive a catholic school education to help reinforce what we teach her at home. SFX has been absolutely wonderful! The Principal is really devoted to the school and making sure the curriculum is the best that it can be. One of the best parts is that the school is small, so it gives the kids an opportunity to form great relationships with both the staff and their peers. I definitely recommend SFX school! - Lucy LT.

St. Francis Xavier School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
All of the staff at Saint Francis is great! A special thanks to the wonderful principal, Lisa Perez for her dedication and love for the school. Angie in the office and the pre-K teachers, Ms. Joanne and Ms. Jayne, are also absolutely wonderful.


St. Francis Xavier School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
There is no better way to instill honesty, integrity and fairness in children than by instilling faith and developing a strong morale compass early on. SFX is the best way to accomplish that.

St. Francis Xavier School 5

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
I am a new parent to Saint Francis Xavier. My children (1st & 5th grades) started in September 2015. We attended another Catholic school in another town previously. We decided that SFX was a better fit for our family because there was little diversity in their previous school. This school is a hidden gem and a diamond in the rough. The new principal is a breath of fresh air and is leading the charge to take the school to another level. The school is smaller so the teachers and staff have the time to put extra care and extra effort into providing your child with the VERY BEST education possible. I wish I had found this school sooner in my private school search. I look forward to many years at SFX. As well as, when my youngest child can also start here... Very Glad I found this school... Shante B.

St. Francis Xavier School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
The entire staff at SFX need a special thanks.... I have written this review in an effort so that others can see what a good decision this school would be. To anyone that wants to give their child an excellent, challenging above average education, SFX is the VERY BEST DECISION!


St. Francis Xavier School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
My first grader is able to write his work in a planner and plan his work accordingly. He was taught this within the first couple of months. His teacher is strict but fair and she is adamant about teaching them to be good students. The same can be said about fifth grader his teacher goes above and beyond. For example she send the test schedule via text to parents so that the parents are aware of what the class should be studying for...

St. Francis Xavier School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
I have children in 2 different grades. The think their work loads are consistent with their grade levels. Both children are challenged to meet their goals and are being taught to organize and prioritize their work loads...

St. Francis Xavier School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
Yes, they teach the children to keep trying. That the only failure is not trying.


St. Francis Xavier School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
They have a strict anti bully tolerance. As well as, they invest in extra curricular activities that inspire compassion such as, food and clothing drives. this is just one example of their compassion and caring towards others

St. Francis Xavier School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
They are helping children develop the principals and moral behavior that will help them become productive members of society.

Nearby schools

St. Francis Xavier School
594 North 7th Street, Newark, NJ  07107
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. (973) 482-9410
Last modified St. Francis Xavier School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top