Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12 & Ungraded|Public charter
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 69 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Star Academy Charter School of Newark
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 11, 2016
- a community member
Of course it's too much homework. Every night???? Really??? Listen since when does Quantity prevail over Quality. If you're giving a good Quality education or lecture during the day, you shouldn't need this Quantity of homework at night. At home children should be relaxing/playing outside. Especially when they don't get recess at school.

North Star Academy Charter School of Newark 1

Posted March 11, 2016
- a community member
Well, I have a student here at North Star in Newark and I must say that I am so sorry that I ever picked this school. Academically he excels, but that's it. It's so much more to learning than academics. Where's the art class, gardening, shop, projects, and so forth. This school needs to learn to be More Well Rounded. It's not all about academics. The kids can't even talk to each other. SMH. My child has struggled with the North Star way....still. I still bump heads with them on their policy. Not to mention....they do not even have recess. And they wonder why they are acting up. They need some release time. They have fitness in their school clothes including and the belt is still on. I need to speak to someone who can change the policy in here. Overall I think they are a good school academically...but that's it. This militant style of teaching they have it ridiculous and I don't take it seriously. Tracking the teacher, back straight, feet flat and hands folded all day. That's for the army.


North Star Academy Charter School of Newark 2

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
Northstar is a good school for academic reasons, these kids are learning a lot.. The problem is how they are learning... Learning here and trying to keep up is very stressful for alot of thee kids here... They are not allowed to be children and treated like soldiers..if you bow your head, look away while a speaker is talking, or simply just adjust your body posture( because your in school from 7:30 to 4:00 with hardly no break, no fresh air,limited conversation, and anything else that sounds rigid and military) you will be punished... They need to rethink how they treat thee children. Deal with reality and stop living some dream of creating militant individuals.. It's not fair. The staff is always right the student at keys wrong.. Gym is twice out the week, in which , they are not allowed to wear gym clothing, they have to take gym in their uniforms( that are expensive by the way)! They can care less about the parents input, only when it's time to do fundraisers.. Sadly I have keep my child in this school because I'm afraid of regular Newark public schools.. I feel that my child is safer here! But, Northstar has to do better

North Star Academy Charter School of Newark
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
My child is up past 1 in the morning trying to complete homework...homework on vacations, during breaks, over the summer... Give them a break

North Star Academy Charter School of Newark
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
Student are not treated as individuals..not allowed to have an opinion the staff is always right..


North Star Academy Charter School of Newark 3

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
My son has been apart of this school for 2 years and I must say that I expected way more than what is received. Academics are great but there should be much more to learning than English, Science, Math and History. There are no language courses until high school which is ridiculous and no art or music class. The most that is given is Gym (which is done in their regular uniform) and performing art class that is a joke. There are no science fairs or projects that challenge the kids. I need my son to be more well rounded in his studies. Sometimes it seems that students are getting punished for the most ridiculous things and it is not always necessary. Also, the parking for the downtown school is horrible. Even though my son is academically doing well he is not being challenged.

North Star Academy Charter School of Newark
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
I see all kinds of kids attend North Star and they all are treated the same.

North Star Academy Charter School of Newark 5

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
The best school system in Essex county.....they have teachers that really care and work very hard all day long.


North Star Academy Charter School of Newark 1

Posted March 11, 2015
- a student
There is too much stress on student and if a very smart student ur escaped to raise your hand every time and u get in trouble for little things

North Star Academy Charter School of Newark 4

Posted November 26, 2014
- a parent
I think North Star is a Terrific School but this is what I think you can improve on. When a teacher assume he/she heard someone talking or joking around in class he/she should know for sure which scholar it is and not assume who he/she think it is because he/she could be wrong. And if you accuse them, allow them to explain themselves without always cutting them off. This is an on going problem and not just from my child, I know other parents that have the same complaint. My Scholar has High Honors and on more than one occasion, I have considered taking my Scholar out of North Star. You are teaching children, not soldiers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Star Academy Charter School of Newark
10 Washington Place, Newark, NJ  07102
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 69 reviews. (973) 642-0101
Last modified North Star Academy Charter School of Newark is a Charter school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top