Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

American History High School

Public | 7, 9-12 & ungraded

We are best known for College Preparatory Program.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2013

The people that review this school are very misinformed. And I am disappointed to here the negativity that is bestowed upon my school . This school have remarkable expectations. They require you to take 5 years of mathematical courses. You have to keep a 2.0 or higher to remain a student. You don't graduate unless you accepted into a college. And finally we have 99% graduation rate. The other one percent are in the armed forces . This school does lack a decent facility because of the lack of fundings it has. Other than that, your child would be honored to attend an academy of such prestige .


Posted April 9, 2010

I contradict the statement that was previously made. If the school does lack the quality in peforming the actual activity into playing the role in educational value then why is American History High ranked as #3 in Newark Highest Performing High Schools? American History High School is doing very well. It may be a small school with other small problems like any other school but 98% of the first graduating class were accepted into institutions of higher learning because of thier academic performance.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2010

they have no quality in erforming the actual activity into playing the role in education value
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2010

This school could be great, but the discipline is poor. The principal is a good guy, but he is weak and wants to be the friend to the students. My relatives go to North Star and the difference is night and day. Most parents only have the other high schools to compare this one to. Another example of low expectations in Newark. We expected more. Public schools are too easy and watered down in Newark. They don't read and hardly get homework. At home we make our child read novels because they are never assigned at this school. I'm still grateful that my child does not have to go to the other schools where all they do is fight. The teachers are nice, but the demands are low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2009

This is my fourth year in American History High School, and I can say nothing but good about this school. As my Senior years reaches its' full swing, I am reminded of the great experiences in the classrooms and hallways. The teachers, some still hold your hand to make sure you keep up with the work and than others, treat you as if you were in College, they don't hold your hand, they don't tell you what to do. The school's curriculum is just like any other High School, so I don't see why another student would deem it fit to attack the school on that level. It is up to you to make the effort, not the teachers, and it certainly prepares you for High School. If you want to be prepared, and have a chance of taking on College (plus the College courses AHHS offers) then come here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

Quite honestly as a freshman at AHHS i'm utterly dissapionted, i expected more of a challenge. In every class. The teachers are sufficent enough. The curriculm is okay. It not mind altering or anything of that sorts, unfortunatly. The counselors are not up to par,and with certian teachers you feel definetly lost. AHHS is a nice school, but if you're looking for a chalenge i'd look otherwise like I am.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2009

its cool not to big not to small you can get to your classes on time. cool people. not soo much drama. lots of clubs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

This school is amazing. Rarely do you see a building where every child is known by a staff member who is vested into their future. I couldn't chose a better school for my son who is in his first year at A.H.H.S. I hope they get a new school so they can really take off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

I am still in my third year at American History High School and I am sad. I am sad because these three years have been some great high school years and I don't wont to leave. I have met new people that I would have never thought in my life that I would meet such as Bill Cosby and Jesse Jackson. I am sad that it is all about to end but I would not trade the experience that I had here for the world. I love American History High school and I am proud to go here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2009

I have been a student of A.H.H.S for 2 years now nad i can say that through it all the drama this has been a great school thanks to the A.Robert Gregory he has set such a high excellence to the school its like you cant help but to achieve it.......
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2008

Im a proud student at American History High. I can honestly say I LOVE MY SCHOOL! I wouldnt give it up or loose faith in it for anything. Yes, I admitt we have had our hardships and down times but we have always seemed to make it through, with the help of our wonderful principle and the dedicated staff we were able to show that History High shouldnt be just a program but the product of inteligent scholars. We have accomplished one goal and will continue to accomplish every other one set before us because 'EXCELLENCE IS THE STANDARD'. I have been there since the begining and will stick with it until the end. I root for my EAGLES! We defintily SOAR! GO HISTORY!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2008

No wait, let me just say that I LOVE MY SCHOOL! I enjoy learning there and experiencing different things. I don't know where I would be if I wasn't so busy trying to build my school. I appriecate my principle and teachers. I think that it is important to learn from the past, live in the present, and plan ahead for the future. American History High School is on the rise and no one is going to pull us done. Who are we? History... Who are we? Her story... Who are we? Our story....
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2007

American History High School enables the students to shape the school and extracuricular activities the way they've planned. As a student of the sophmore class, I will be graduating as the first class of this school, it is an incredible honor to start traditions, give this school good recognition and watch as this school grows.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students99%
Female100%
Male96%
Black98%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged99%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education99%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant99%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students82%
Female80%
Male85%
Black80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education83%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant82%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students16%
Female15%
Male17%
Black16%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged16%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education16%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant16%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

100%

SAT college ready

5%

Graduation rate

91%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 73% 16%
Hispanic 23% 22%
White 4% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 2:40 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr Robert Gregory
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Fax number
  • (973) 456-7086

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Swimming
  • bowling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Swimming
  • bowling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • The school has a ptsa. elections will be occurring in december. the principal host open community forums to solicit parent feedback as the school is growing and developing
More from this school
  • Small school in a safe location. Community and Family oriented.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

74 Montgomery St
Newark, NJ 07103
Website: Click here
Phone: (973) 733-7333

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Eagle Academy
Newark, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT