Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7, 9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Newark, NJ

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


American History High School 5

Posted August 14, 2013
- a community member
The people that review this school are very misinformed. And I am disappointed to here the negativity that is bestowed upon my school . This school have remarkable expectations. They require you to take 5 years of mathematical courses. You have to keep a 2.0 or higher to remain a student. You don't graduate unless you accepted into a college. And finally we have 99% graduation rate. The other one percent are in the armed forces . This school does lack a decent facility because of the lack of fundings it has. Other than that, your child would be honored to attend an academy of such prestige .

American History High School 0
no rating

Posted April 09, 2010
- a student
I contradict the statement that was previously made. If the school does lack the quality in peforming the actual activity into playing the role in educational value then why is American History High ranked as #3 in Newark Highest Performing High Schools? American History High School is doing very well. It may be a small school with other small problems like any other school but 98% of the first graduating class were accepted into institutions of higher learning because of thier academic performance.


American History High School 1

Posted April 07, 2010
- a parent
they have no quality in erforming the actual activity into playing the role in education value

American History High School 3

Posted January 11, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

American History High School 3

Posted January 02, 2010
- a parent
This school could be great, but the discipline is poor. The principal is a good guy, but he is weak and wants to be the friend to the students. My relatives go to North Star and the difference is night and day. Most parents only have the other high schools to compare this one to. Another example of low expectations in Newark. We expected more. Public schools are too easy and watered down in Newark. They don't read and hardly get homework. At home we make our child read novels because they are never assigned at this school. I'm still grateful that my child does not have to go to the other schools where all they do is fight. The teachers are nice, but the demands are low.


American History High School 4

Posted November 27, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

American History High School 5

Posted November 22, 2009
- a parent
This is my fourth year in American History High School, and I can say nothing but good about this school. As my Senior years reaches its' full swing, I am reminded of the great experiences in the classrooms and hallways. The teachers, some still hold your hand to make sure you keep up with the work and than others, treat you as if you were in College, they don't hold your hand, they don't tell you what to do. The school's curriculum is just like any other High School, so I don't see why another student would deem it fit to attack the school on that level. It is up to you to make the effort, not the teachers, and it certainly prepares you for High School. If you want to be prepared, and have a chance of taking on College (plus the College courses AHHS offers) then come here.

American History High School 3

Posted November 05, 2009
- a student
Quite honestly as a freshman at AHHS i'm utterly dissapionted, i expected more of a challenge. In every class. The teachers are sufficent enough. The curriculm is okay. It not mind altering or anything of that sorts, unfortunatly. The counselors are not up to par,and with certian teachers you feel definetly lost. AHHS is a nice school, but if you're looking for a chalenge i'd look otherwise like I am.


American History High School 4

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
its cool not to big not to small you can get to your classes on time. cool people. not soo much drama. lots of clubs

American History High School 5

Posted April 29, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

American History High School
74 Montgomery St, Newark, NJ  07103
(973) 733-7333
Last modified American History High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
American History High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top