Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Essex County Vocational School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 660 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2014

This school is excellent, and so many different activity's. My kids grades have really improved from b+ to straights A+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

Only knowing this school for three days, I could tell you that at this school it is imperative to do your work and want you to learn items that are taught to you during your time at the school. Most importantly, to come to school, this will almost guarantee your success. Homework is important to do because it is only ten precent of you grade. The school environment is nice quite and there is as little to no violence in the school because the toleration of bullying, fighting, arguing, etc. is not prohibited n this school. If you are to attend this school, you should know that your work must be done in Cornell form. thanks for your time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2009

My first year in this school was very inspiring there, was a huge difference between middle school. They had more dicipline and more oppurtunities. The shops that they have are great and very helpful for what is to come in the real world. They offer alot of shops like Lawand puublic saftey, Mechanical Drafting, Buisness Culinary arts, and even Carpentry. I really look forward to my next 3 years at this great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2009

When it comes to sports we need more varieties. The sports that need to be added should be football, lacrosse, tennis, bowling, hockey, and swimming. The sports we do have, we have dedicated teachers and coaches that do work hard for their teams. In example, Weshnak. He works hard for his volleyball teams and his senior class advisor duties. He definitely goes out his away for the team he coaches. Over all, the can improve in many ways.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2009

I think this school is an excellent school! last year tthis school was going down but thanks to our wonderfull new principle , mrs.Jeter, our school is going from good to great. She does not let any student go down. This school now offers free tutoring for help. She awads honor roll, and she helps the others achieve it. This school is a five star school because the classes are made to help students learn and with the new caps class that lets students start to plan out their future and get a clear view of the future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2009

I think that N. 13th St. Campus is above average becasue of the many hands on activities that we do on the regular basis. Unlike many other high schools every day we something to look forward to that involves us actually learning by means of experience. Some activities that we engage in daily are: Cosmetology, Accounting, Culinary Arts, Mechanical Drafting, Industrial Maintenace, Law and Public Safety and much more. For all this school has to offer this school incoming ninth graders, that will soon be going to into the work force, it should definitely be recognized as 'Above Average.'
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2009

I think that this school is over all nice in many ways... Our new principal ms.Jeter is turning our school into a really fun and learning enviornment and shes really striving for us to become something she really cares for her students and thats a great characteristic for a principal im not going to say our school is the best but its not the worst in many ways now this year our school have been much much more fun and a school that we would want to attend personally I dont like some of the rules in this school but not everything you should get you have to be content so overall I would rate my school above average.


Posted April 27, 2009

One thing I like about N. 13th St. Campus is that it has different shop classes. Shop classes are a big help to many students in the school. The good thing is that the shop classes open many oppourtunities to the student body. Even for the kids who plan on not going to college. they have many jobs available to them. Shop classes are also a big help for students who also are planning to go to college. IIf i was to recomment a school to any parent, it would definitely be N. 13th St. Campus.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2009

This school has great things to offer. We have a dedicated staff that does their best to ensure student achievement. We offer free tutoring, SAT, and HSPA prep. Students are able to choose either before or after school to attend. This ensures that prep classes work around their on their own obligations and responsibilities. We also have a wealth of clubs and activities for students to participate in, both in and out of school. Another positive is the school s attention to security and safety. When teachers and students feel safe, the academic environment is allowed to flourish. As a vocational school, students learn a trade skill which they will take with them forever. Students can use this skill to enter to job market or to supplement their income during the college years. The guidance department is second to none. They assist students in applying to colleges, provide career assistance, and make the difficult transitions into and out of high school easier for apprehensive students. This school is a great school for students who are looking to gain knowledge and experience in both the vocational and academic realms.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 27, 2009

In all the years that I have attended north13th street campus it has been a wonderful experience. The activities weren't that much fun up until this year.I have learned an extreme amount of decipline which will allow me to be aware of the real world. The shops are interesting. I currently do the law academy which is a good field to be involved in. But it requires alot of work, which anyone is capable of as long as you are willing to put forth your best effort. I recommend that you come prepared to face what it is like being in the real world at north 13th, from favoritism, to teachers pets,to just plain unfairness but that is what you will face in life. If you would like to see a good future or to be prepared for collage I suggest north 13th school because of the great programs they have.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2008

this school is good and my child attendants that school and would see them study very hard
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2004

I am going be a junior next year and i am still attending this school, this school is no doubt a good school, the only thing it lacks is activites,'there should be more activites, like other public schools' every year students complain about the school having nothing, and it being boring. I wish the board would solve this problem like they're supposed to because this is a big problem. The teachers are great and they teach very well, most of them agree with us. We didn't have a talent show in a long time and we only have like 1 or 2 assemblys a year. Which is very unffair! We deserve more! Like I mentioned in the begginning North 13th is a 'good' school, but with more activites (dance club, drama club, choir, etc.) this school would be great, excellent, but most importantly the best!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 22, 2003

I am not a parent of the school but I am a former student of the school. I think this was one of the best schools I ever went to and it really inspired me to do better after I left it. I think that all the teachers are great and they provided a great deal of information to me.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students95%
Female99%
Male91%
Black98%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education92%
General education95%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant95%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students82%
Female84%
Male80%
Black74%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education50%
General education88%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant82%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students56%
Female61%
Male51%
Black58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Special education41%
General education60%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant56%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

96%

SAT college ready

2%

Graduation rate

97%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 22%
Black 42% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
White 1% 51%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Patricia Clark-jeter

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Vocational education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 N 13th St
Newark, NJ 07107
Phone: (973) 483-5466

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Madrasatu Ahlis Sunnah
East Orange, NJ




East Orange Campus 9
East Orange, NJ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT