Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Kipp RISE Academy Charter School

Charter | 5-8 | 360 students

We are best known for rigorous college prep approach.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Newark

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $130,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

This is my daughters 3rd year at Rise Academy. There are many great schools and great teachers in Newark school system but my daughter and Rise Academy are a perfect fit. My daughter was about two grade levels behind in reading when she went to Rise Academy, now she is reading at every turn. She has read over 2.5 million words so far in this school year. Thanks to the staff at Rise Academy. They have a work hard play hard mentality, which as a great balance to it. What my daughter may not see it that when they are playing hard they are also learning. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2013

My school is Kipp Rise Academy Charter School, I love it and you get togot the best opportunities of your life. For example, If you come to Rise Academy and get all the hard work done you will get pushed very hard to go to the next grade. At the end of every school year you get to go n a big fun trip with what we call our Team and Family but your family does not come. The school also has nice teachers that will help you through tough times. So Family & Friends and other People send your child to KIPP Rise Academy Charter School for a good life and education. All you have to do is fill out an application and send it back with your child's record. PS:I am not any original person writing this I go to Rise Academy and I know your child will do much better in Rise Academy. Just Call (973)242-7473 21 Ashland Street Newark, NJ 07103 http://www.teamschools.org/schools/rise-academy/


Posted April 3, 2013

This is my sons first year at RISE. At his previous school they were unable to get him to perform and even suggested that we lable him and put him on meds. I knew that was not an option. We refused to accept their assessment and allow him to become another statistic in the city of Newark. Since enrolling at RISE Academy this kids scores and outlook has risen to new heights. He's excited about learning and his grades are far better than expected. We have already visited and picked out his future college - Princeton! Thank you KIPP and RISE Academy for allowing us to keep hope alive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2011

I am a student who goes to Rise Academy Charter school and this is the best choice for 5-8 graders because they make you want to succeed and climb the mountain to college. Our core values at this school is to Work Hard, Be Nice, Change The World, and also Take Responsibility. I am going to be graduating this year and I've been here since 5th grade. Over the years I've grown from a kid who didn't really like school to a kid who wants a great future for myself and to go to high school and college. I went from a school where academics didn't really matter to a school where you can express yourself and have fun but still do what you need to do to acheive. I really think many kids should attend this school to make a diffrence for other generations to come.


Posted March 24, 2010

I am very proud of my girls attending the school. The rules can be very petty at times but i do understand that it is to benefit the kids in the long run. They are prepairing them for real life experiance. Teaching them to be accountable for their action. My girls know now that you have to work hard to be successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

I am a new parent to the Rise Academy Family, but must say that my 5th grader has definitel made an about face since attending Rise. At her previous school, we struggled on a constant basis with her willingness to engage in homework assignments or extracurricular activities. I am very proud of my daughter and definitely recommend Rise to any middle school bound student and their parents. The atmosphere is totally different and it has helped provide structural guidance to my child when it comes to taking the initiative of completing homework when she walks in the door from school as opposed to waiting until I return home from work to assist. She is more confident when taking on homework assignments. Thanks Rise and please keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30am
School end time
  • 4:00pm
School Leader's name
  • Drew Martin
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Parents are involved extensively at rise academy. - all parents have the cell phone numbers of every rise teacher and are encouraged to use them as needed. - rise has an open door policy and parents are invited to sit in on all classes. - the social workers engage with parents on a continual basis each year. - in the lower grades, parents have multiple open houses and report card nights. - in the upper grades, parents have quarterly reviews with their students of grades, content learned, and goals set and achieved.
More from this school
  • Please visit our website at www.teamschools.org for more information.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Newark Collegiate Academy
A variety of boarding and private day schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21 Ashland Street
Newark, NJ 07103
Website: Click here
Phone: (973) 242-7473

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT