Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

360 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rise Academy Charter School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
I'd like to say thanks to Mr. Brown for all that he has done for both my sons and both of my neices. He has been an inspiration to all of them and to me and my wife. Hope he is still around when my 7 year old who is in kindergarten at Spark gets to Rise Academy. Thank you so much Mr. Brown.

Rise Academy Charter School 5

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
To whom it may concern the entire staff is very caring for our children education and safety ,the staff is always smiling from the principal on down to his staff keep up the good work and may we all pray for the students ,entire staff and pray for our school and the safety of everyone entering the building and a safe return home


Rise Academy Charter School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a community member
It helps kids learn the understanding of being an adult and growing up to be a successful college student .

Rise Academy Charter School 5

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
This is my daughters 3rd year at Rise Academy. There are many great schools and great teachers in Newark school system but my daughter and Rise Academy are a perfect fit. My daughter was about two grade levels behind in reading when she went to Rise Academy, now she is reading at every turn. She has read over 2.5 million words so far in this school year. Thanks to the staff at Rise Academy. They have a work hard play hard mentality, which as a great balance to it. What my daughter may not see it that when they are playing hard they are also learning. I love this school.

Rise Academy Charter School 4

Posted April 03, 2013
- a parent
This is my sons first year at RISE. At his previous school they were unable to get him to perform and even suggested that we lable him and put him on meds. I knew that was not an option. We refused to accept their assessment and allow him to become another statistic in the city of Newark. Since enrolling at RISE Academy this kids scores and outlook has risen to new heights. He's excited about learning and his grades are far better than expected. We have already visited and picked out his future college - Princeton! Thank you KIPP and RISE Academy for allowing us to keep hope alive!


Rise Academy Charter School 5

Posted December 18, 2011
- a community member
I am a student who goes to Rise Academy Charter school and this is the best choice for 5-8 graders because they make you want to succeed and climb the mountain to college. Our core values at this school is to Work Hard, Be Nice, Change The World, and also Take Responsibility. I am going to be graduating this year and I've been here since 5th grade. Over the years I've grown from a kid who didn't really like school to a kid who wants a great future for myself and to go to high school and college. I went from a school where academics didn't really matter to a school where you can express yourself and have fun but still do what you need to do to acheive. I really think many kids should attend this school to make a diffrence for other generations to come.

Rise Academy Charter School
no rating

Posted March 24, 2010
- a parent
I am very proud of my girls attending the school. The rules can be very petty at times but i do understand that it is to benefit the kids in the long run. They are prepairing them for real life experiance. Teaching them to be accountable for their action. My girls know now that you have to work hard to be successful.

Rise Academy Charter School
no rating

Posted October 02, 2009
- a parent
I am a new parent to the Rise Academy Family, but must say that my 5th grader has definitel made an about face since attending Rise. At her previous school, we struggled on a constant basis with her willingness to engage in homework assignments or extracurricular activities. I am very proud of my daughter and definitely recommend Rise to any middle school bound student and their parents. The atmosphere is totally different and it has helped provide structural guidance to my child when it comes to taking the initiative of completing homework when she walks in the door from school as opposed to waiting until I return home from work to assist. She is more confident when taking on homework assignments. Thanks Rise and please keep up the good work.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rise Academy Charter School
21 Ashland Street, Newark, NJ  07103
(973) 242-7473
Last modified Rise Academy Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 5-8
Rise Academy Charter School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top