Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Brunswick Township High School

Public | 9-12 | 1741 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

North Brunswick Township High School is a great school with a wonderful administrative team. If a parent needs to resolve an issue, the administrative team is available to resolve the issue immediately. They strive to make sure that there is a positive parent/student/teacher relationship. They also subscribe to an innovative system that provides parents easy access to students' grades and a new online parent/teacher conference scheduling system which is very efficient!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Judd is very organized and well managed. I was impressed with Parent/Student Orientation Day. It helped my 5 year old to meet his teacher and know the building in advance. His day 1 in KG was a great experience. I hope North Brunswick continues the same good quality to Middle School and High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

Both of my daughters recently graduated from NBTHS. The school is much better than the rating listed here. They had excellent teachers. Great after school sports, music and clubs to get involved with. They are now both attending the colleges of their choice. Please don't under estimate our fine township schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The principal, assistant principals, faculty and counselors are hard working, committed to make this school a learning community that motivates all students to give their best both socially and academically. Mr. Lester, & Ms. Debra Serafin are two examples of the administrative staff that have impressed me at NBTHS: they inspire the best in students and parents. Kudos to all who work and study at this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

very good school. my child went there for a year, and during that time period he received an amazing education. the staff and teachers are very versatile in their teaching skills and are able to help children when all different types of learning styles. i would recommend this school to any parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2007

One of my big factors in moving to North Brunswick 12 years ago was the school system. I have 3 siblings that went through the system in the 70s and 80s, and they had overall good experiences academically and athletically. Two of my 3 sons are now through the system and in college. I am very disappointed that, although my oldest son was in the Nat.Honors Society at NBTHS and had calculus there, he was required to take remedial math at Rutgers. My second son, remedial reading at Middlesex. These setbacks add extra time required in college, and extra tuition. What kind of foundation are our students getting? Overall I feel the quality of the education has suffered tremendously, primarily due to the lack of dicsipline in the classrooms (secondarily to some teachers that don't speak english well). Discipline needs alot of attention here! Athletics and other extra-curricular activities are excellent, however.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

While the school faces a number of challenges, the faculty is incredibly dedicated and hard-working, and genuinely care about the students, which is more than you can say for a lot of institutions.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 12, 2005

North Brunswick township high offers a challenging academic curriculum that stimulates the minds the students. Their college pre courses and preparing young minds for the next level of education. NBTHS also has a great sports program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2004

As a former student, I really was not impressed with North Brunswick Townshiop High School. A previous review said it all; about how the school was really dedicated to the honors and advanced students. Too bad for all of us average students. It really makes sense to have a class of 6 honor students while 'Joe Average' over here gets stuck taking boring electives. I remember when I was a Junior I wanted to take a current events class with Mr. Anderson for my Senior year. We only had about 10 kids sign up for the course so the school decided not to offer the course. And wouldn't you know it, that was the year the World Trade Center went down. It's too bad I couldn't take that course, but it was refreshing to know that they offered a course to 6 honors students. My guidance counselor didnt help me at all.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 18, 2004

This Blue Ribbon school is an absolutely fantastic school for advanced kids. Honors students have over 20 AP courses at their disposal, and the college acceptances sure prove it. The class of 2004 had 2 kids go to Princeton, 1 to Columbia, 5 to Universitiy of Pennsylvania, 3 to Cornell, 1 to Georgetown, and over 15 to NYU - essentially, the best schools in the country. Most of the kids in this school go to college, and a good academic environment is fostered. It is also a very diverse school with good teachers and leadreship. Extracurricular activiteis are wide and excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2004

Overall I feel that the school offers a good academic curriculum. My son's teachers have shown him a lot of concern to do well. The school does a good job in following up with the students. On a scale of 1-5 I rate the school a 4.5. I am glad I choose to live in North Brunswick.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2004

The school is currently undergoing a $29 million construction project that will add classrooms, a new library, a new auditorium, and updated media capabilities. The school is built on an old landfill and the board and the township are in the midst of cleaning the contamination up. The materials are hazardous waste, including dangerously high levels of heavy metals and TCE. In the past, the board just covered the mess with clean fill every time it would rise to the surface on the soccer fields. However, now the DEP stepped in. The ground water is contaminated and this pollution will have harmful effects on the health of many people in the area. It's going to cost lots to clean it up considering the waste spreads out from beneath the school, through the sports fields, into the nearby park, to the nearby elementary school, and under the closest housing developments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

every school could improve on something, but overall I am very happy with our experience at NBTHS. The teachers I have found seem to be very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

We find that the teachers and staff are very highely motivated and interested in the students. The school offers a wide range of courses and actvities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

434 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

434 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students94%
Female96%
Male91%
Black95%
Asian100%
Hispanic84%
Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Special education74%
General education98%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant94%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former46%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students84%
Female83%
Male85%
Black77%
Asian99%
Hispanic70%
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
General education93%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant84%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

492 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students63%
Female63%
Male64%
Black40%
Asian84%
Hispanic44%
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
General education72%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant63%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 33% 52%
Hispanic 24% 22%
Black 22% 16%
Asian 21% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

98 Raider Road
North Brunswick, NJ 08902
Phone: (732) 289-3702

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Brunswick High School
New Brunswick, NJ


HEROES Academy
New Brunswick, NJ




East Brunswick High School
East Brunswick, NJ


Center School
Highland Park, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT