Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Livingston Park Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 1 student

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2014

It is a great school. My son is doing good in second grade. The play area need some improvement. Staff and teachers are so good. My daughter is joining kindergarten this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2011

My daughter did her KG in a private school and she started 1st grade in Livinston Park Sep. 2010. I was initially worried about the quality of education she is going to get in a public school. But to my surprise, the teacher is fantastic and my daugher is always kept challenged by her teacher at every level. I feel so good now that I made the right choice in moving her from private school to this school. My daughter is very happy. I would recommend this school with five stars!!!! I didn't interact with the principal for anything, so I can't comment on her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

This is an excellent school .Teachers are very very caring ...this school is bully free
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

I have 2 kids going in this school. The teachers are excellent and the Project Wise is an excellent program for advanced kids. The school has the Math Olympiad program which challenges the advance math kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

My son is in Kindergarten at Livingston Park. I cannot believe how quickly he has improved in reading and writing. The teachers are so dedicated and are willing to go an extra mile with the children. Keep up the good work, teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

My 1st challenged started in Kindergarten trying to get my child an IEP. CST wante dto wait till 3rd grade. 1st grade there did an experimental inclusion class and he did very well. 2nd grade was a disaster. 24 kids to one teacher w/no aide. Good library, good art teacher, good gym program! Principal is useless. Child Study Team was horrible. They want every child to go through the same steps. They refuse any alternative suggestions or services. Want to sent all kids to For Keeps or Princeton house even if there are no dx to support their suggestions. NB schools are overrated. If child has no special needs it is an okay school system. I saw good and bad teachers. The bad teachers are protected. Good teachers are ignored. Need special services don't fight at IEP meeting; get a lawyer to go to mediation. only way to get help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2010

Livingston Park school is a wonderful school. I know this not only because I am a parent but because I also work there. My daughter will get the best education because I see first hand what our teachers are doing. My daughter is in 1st grade and loves her teacher Mrs. Pizzulli. I am very thankful that she has had such a positive experience. I am confident that she will continue to do well because we have dedicated teachers. They do their job very well and truly care about their students' success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2009

Regarding Holidays and Livingston Park: This year, I was thankful because arrangements were made for children who do not celebrate Halloween. Last year my child had to be picked up early because 'everyone is participating in the Halloween parade'. Years before that we did the same for our other son. Diversity should be celebrated as long as there is an alternate plan for those who cannot participate because of their religious beliefs. I look forward to seeing images of angels, Jesus and his family, the Star of David, and Santa Claus, as I had to explain why there were ghosts, witches and pumpkin faces throughout the school commuity in October.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2009

My son goes to this school since 3 years. Teachers are good. Principal is very strong and he thinks whatever he thinks is right. He is biassed about few kids and he thinks they are always wrong. Teachers are also influenced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

She went to this school for 4 years.She is in her 5th year now. We had a small problem in 4th grade about re-locating but alls well that ends well but this school is very highly recommended
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

This is the best school ever...Awesome Teachers...Principal Dr Bowman is the best...The staff amazing...Campus is large enough...Food is good...Safe n loving enviornment...Greatest experience for my child for 5 yrs...He misses all of it...LPES Rocks!!!God Bless u all at LPES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

Very strong principal. He's been around a long time and unwavering in his high standards for the school. Most teachers are new to teaching. But, this is a good thing since they have a lot more energy and fresh, strong dedication to teaching. Extracurricular activities are lacking, but there are plenty of community activities and events to participate in. Most parents are involved in their students progress and activity. Safety has been good and there have been very few problems between my two children and other students. Very good teachers -Ms. Dinardi, Ms. Russo, Mrs. Shamy just to name a few. Academic standards are strong without pushing too hard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

It is a good school. Teachers and staff are very nice and cooperative. They are following a very academic program of North Brunswick School district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

My son is in the special education program at this school and it is horrible. The child study team is wonderful but my son dreads going to school because of the teacher and the principal. I have considered changing schools but was given a huge problem and was told that this is the only school in town that has the program he needs. We are looking into private schools. The principal has no clue how to deal with special needs children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My son has attended Livingston Park for three years now. I am very pleased with the education he has recieved. Everyone that I have come into contact with has been really overwhelmingly supportive and caring. I love the school and would recomend it very highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students74%
Female78%
Male68%
Black58%
Asian86%
Hispanic61%
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Special education39%
General education81%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant74%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students83%
Female81%
Male85%
Black58%
Asian97%
Hispanic68%
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Special education62%
General education86%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant83%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students71%
Female80%
Male60%
Black48%
Asian93%
Hispanic38%
White84%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Special educationn/a
General education76%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant71%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students88%
Female96%
Male78%
Black80%
Asian98%
Hispanic72%
White90%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
General education91%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant88%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students93%
Female96%
Male90%
Black84%
Asian100%
Hispanic86%
White95%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
General education96%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant93%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students66%
Female71%
Male61%
Black56%
Asian85%
Hispanic43%
White71%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Special education27%
General education72%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant66%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students87%
Female84%
Male89%
Black79%
Asian96%
Hispanic77%
White93%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Special education67%
General education92%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant87%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 47% 9%
Hispanic 19% 22%
Black 16% 16%
White 16% 51%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1128 Livingston Avenue
North Brunswick, NJ 08902
Phone: (732) 289-3302

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

John Adams Elementary School
North Brunswick, NJ


Parsons Elementary School
North Brunswick, NJ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT