Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
North Caldwell, NJ
Students enrolled: 1,023

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Essex High School 5

Posted May 20, 2012
- a parent
My daughter graduated in 1995, and is now a doctor. Many of her fellow graduates have equally successful careers. When applying to colleges, West Esses was rated very highly. If I remember correctly, about 90% of the students that year went to college.

West Essex High School 1

Posted August 18, 2011
- a student
As a former student, I can tell you that this is not a remotely good school for any student that is interested in fulfilling their academic potential and not having a stressful life. Although some of the teachers are okay, the school does not run properly. The administration at this school is terrible. They have an average of two horrible superintendents per year, the discipline department is confused to say the least (although better than years past), and some of the rules are ridiculous, while reasonable rules are not implemented. It is impossible to get what you need for college applications in the guidance office. Lastly and most importantly, the student body is not a good one to be around. The most exciting part of many of these kids's lives are getting high and getting into a fight. Very few students are interested in any , an academic oriented club, or school work. This makes it difficult for the few who are to express themselves. The class sizes are large and the teaching techniques that are used need to be reformed. Overall, very good place if you are interested in fooling around and not really caring about your future, bad school if you are the opposite.


West Essex High School 4

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
I am a parent of a student that graduated from West Essex last year. I also have a daughter who is attending the school. West Essex is a good school. You get from it what you put into it. It you do not study and do the work of course you won't do well, it's like that with every school. And big deal they like sports, most people do. They do have other clubs if you aren't the sports type. My daughter did very well, because as a PARENT, I was constantly on her back about grades and getting into a good college. So it isn't just the school's responsibiltiy to make sure your child does well. At West Essex the opportunity is definitely there, you have to make sure that you take advantage of it.

West Essex High School 1

Posted January 13, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

West Essex High School 1

Posted May 20, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


West Essex High School 2

Posted March 05, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

West Essex High School 5

Posted October 25, 2008
- a student
I just graduated from West Essex in 2008 and I feel that I am very prepared for college. I worked har throughout high school and used my teachers as resources. Unlike what someone said before, people graduating from West Essex are not going to community colleges unless they did very little in high school. I, for instance, got into lafayette, the college of new jersey, villanova and university of richmond to name a few. One friend is going to MIT (he was valedictorian), another is going to george washington university. West Essex definitely gives you the opportunity to go to whatever college you want as long as you're willing to work hard.

West Essex High School 0
no rating

Posted July 02, 2008
- a parent
West Essex is a great school. It l provided my son with a good education and perpared him for college.


West Essex High School 2

Posted January 30, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

West Essex High School 5

Posted December 18, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Essex High School
65 West Greenbrook Rd, North Caldwell, NJ  07006
(973) 228-1200
Last modified West Essex High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Essex High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top