Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-8 & Ungraded
Public district
North Haledon, NJ
Students enrolled: 322
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


High Mountain Middle School 5

Posted March 01, 2015
- a community member
Some of my best years were spent at high mountain. Great teachers who really care about their students

High Mountain Middle School 1

Posted January 15, 2014
- a community member
I would have been better off if I had slipped into a coma for these four years and woken up in high school. I probably would have learned about the same amount and it would have saved a great deal of frustration.


High Mountain Middle School 2

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
There are some good teachers but the school is ran very poorly and favoritsim amonh students is cleary displayed by teachers and administration

High Mountain Middle School
no rating

Posted April 09, 2008
- a parent
Last night I went to the open house for the new High Mountain School. The teachers seemed great and very friendly. I am looking forward for the new experience he will encounter. I think it is about time he has fond memories of his school years. Not all negative. The only thing I did not like about the open house was the resourse teacher kept following me around. Like I was going to start something. This is a procedure I wish would stop! After all the parents pay for the school and should feel happy to be there also.

High Mountain Middle School 1

Posted January 24, 2008
- a parent
this school has some great teachers however they have poor adminstration I have had numerous promblems with this school


High Mountain Middle School 5

Posted December 12, 2007
- a parent
My son thrived at this school. As a newcomer, my son was welcomed right in. No worries about drugs or gangs, these are good kids from good families. No sports program initiated by the school. The community has a childrens sports program, just sign your kid up. My son was able to form healthy lasting relationships with children he went to school with and who lived nearby in the same community. The principal and teachers are awesome. They give of their personal time for struggling students or to meet with parents. We didn't get this much attention when my son was going to a smaller private school. I just wish there were a high school in North Haledon with the same attributes as High Mountain Middle School.

High Mountain Middle School 5

Posted August 14, 2007
- a student
Really liked this school and was challenged by the academics all four years. Teachers are wonderful and its a nice, safe, friendly atmosphere! I agree with the previous post that there really is no diversity....almost all white kids.

High Mountain Middle School 5

Posted October 16, 2006
- a student
Out of all my schooling years, my four years at High Mountain Middle School were the best. The teachers were better than that of my 'publicly acclaimed' high school at DePaul Catholic, and everyone is friendly. If you have the option to send your child here do so, do not seek private education!


High Mountain Middle School 2

Posted June 07, 2004
- a student
Although the education was sufficient, the diversity was so low that those minorities stood out, not for their individuality, but instead for how well they each conformed. It is a shame how the cultural difference were hidden instead of explored and praised.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

High Mountain Middle School
515 High Mountain Road, North Haledon, NJ  07508
(973) 427-1220
Last modified High Mountain Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
High Mountain Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top