Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ocean Avenue Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2014

I have two children in Ocean, 4th and 2nd. I was concerned about the low ranking of this school (4/10). To my delight, our experiences at Ocean have been wonderful. The teachers exceed my expectations. They are professional, accessible to parents and kids, polite, and enthusiastic. Principal Wilson goes above and beyond the call of duty. She is an asset to the school! My children are thriving. I wouldn't want them anywhere else at this point.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

A wonderful school. I had my 4 children go through Ocean Ave School and they all did great. 2 made the National Honor Society and 3 have or will graduate in th top 7% of their high school. I expect my 4 th child currently in 7th grade to follow suit. Nice job on building their educational foundation Ocean Ave!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2011

I have never had any problems with any staff at this school until this year. My children have gone here since kind. and now are in 3rd and 4th grade. Mrs. Wilbert (4th grade) is one of the most unprofessional bullies I have ever met. In no way should she have any interaction with children. She intimidated and screamed (actually more like growled) at my son until he was shaking and hysterical. No adult should ever speak to a child that way, much less a teacher. She is a bully and used intimidation as a scare tactic. She needs to either retire or be removed from her position. She chose the wrong child to pick on, and honestly if you are going to pick and choose which children you like and don't like, then why be a teacher? My son has never had any disciplinary problems, to the contrary, his teachers have always raved about what a delight he is in class. This woman single handedly took my son from loving school to being upset to go everyday. Congratulations Mrs. Wilbert on your 37 years of harassing children, you should be so proud.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

I have 2 children in this school, and they are both excelling. The teachers, student teachers and staff are amazing. Mrs. Wilson is a great addition as principal to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2010

Great school overall. My first impression was that my son was being overworked, but realized soon that homeowrk assignments were distributed uniformly across classes in each grade. Even more, while it is oftentimes difficult trying to get through one hour + of homeowrk each day with an 8-year-old, I believe that he's benefitted from the amount and breadth of the work and I notice a marked improvement in his reading, writing, and math skills. The school also offers effective supplementary programs/resources, including extra summer reading classes and a guidance counselor. The quality of teachers is mixed. One year he had a personable teacher who related to him and was quite effective in focusing him on his work. Another year he had a miserable, unprofessional teacher who should have retired 15 years ago.


Posted May 8, 2007

I am highly impressed with this school. The teachers truly love to teach, which is a rarity these days. I have two children in this school and both are excelling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2006

Not a good school. Even at this age there have been issues with violence and drugs in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2003

We moved to NJ two years ago, I am completely impressed with the school, the principal, the teachers and the overall excellent quality and care my children receive at Ocean Avenue Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students53%
Female48%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Special education46%
General education55%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant53%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students65%
Female76%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Special education55%
General education69%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant65%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students46%
Female59%
Male32%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White46%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantaged53%
Special educationn/a
General education63%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant46%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students73%
Female74%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Special educationn/a
General education83%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant73%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students87%
Female89%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
General education90%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant87%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students49%
Female63%
Male42%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White49%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged56%
Special education31%
General education55%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant49%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students80%
Female74%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Special education77%
General education81%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant80%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 51%
Hispanic 8% 22%
Black 4% 16%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Cynthia Wilson

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

235 Ocean Avenue
North Middletown, NJ 07748
Phone: (732) 787-0092

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Ann School
Keansburg, NJ



Harmony Elementary School
New Monmouth, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT