Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nutley High School

Public | 9-12 | 1276 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2013

Nutley High School provided me a great foundation before leaving for college. They offered different levels of classes depending upon the progress of the student. There was a high quality grade of teachers in the advanced classes as well.


Posted December 26, 2010

Awesome school, Great teachers and great environment!!! School programs are great! I wish I was there now.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2007

Great school, awesome teachers. Now I'm a student at Princeton, graduated from NHS with the class of 2005. rock on, Nutley!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 4, 2006

I graduated in 2006. Excellent liberal arts education. Physics lab equipment not so great, but some marvelous teachers in sciences. Unfortunately, many of the older, experienced teachers retired in 2006, and at least one more is retiring in 2007. Main art teachers retired and I haven't heard how the art program is now. Good security and generally safe, but students in Nutley seem to be getting more unruly. In any case, a great public school, great times. I recommend seeing how 2007 graduates react...
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 25, 2006

I am a former student of Nutley High School and now I am in college. At Nutley High I had wonderful experiences with the teachers and students. I took advantage of their tough courses and took both AP and honors which has helped get me accepted to many colleges. Nutley's grading system is also at the level of a private school which is very impressive. Also a lot of my classmates moved to Nutley to get a better education and they said they liked it much better not only in school but the town itself. I would highly suggest going to Nutley High School.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 12, 2006

To much emphasis on sporting events. Some teachers do not make themselves available to the students when increased attention is needed in areas such as math and history.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 11, 2005

Academic ability groupings need to be eliminated to allow for more flexibility for student course selections.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 4, 2005

Very good humanities program, very good college-prep for liberal arts. Lots of parental involvement. Very supportive sports environment. Lacking in sciences, although there are some advanced placement classes, equipment and labs in need of update (scheduled soon) very tough grading system which may lead to students having lower gpa, but an easier time getting good grades in college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2005

I agree that Nutley has a good academic record however, as a parent I would like to see the teachers using the websites to post classwork and homework. I check the nutleyschools.org website regularly to see if teachers are posting their class/homework. Most do not. If the teachers need to submit lesson plans for approval then why can't these same plans be posted for parents to review. Also, the no math homework policy for freshmen is stupid. Math is reinforced by doing the work. Overall, I think the school does a great job but the math department needs to re-think their policy on homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2004

Nutley is a terrific high school with the strictness that is usually found in parochial schools. Very proper school always looking to improve. Academically very good and looked upon highly by colleges. Many extra curricular activities as well as a great sports program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2003

The best thing I ever did was to move to Nutley for the school system for my child. She did very well the very first year. When we moved here she started at Nutley Middle school and graduated from Nutley HS. Her overall experience was very positive and she did much better than I could have hoped for. I could never say enough about Nutley schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students94%
Female96%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanic86%
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Special education77%
General education98%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant94%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students78%
Female78%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian97%
Hispanic55%
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Special education39%
General education88%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant78%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students70%
Female67%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asian86%
Hispanic56%
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Special education55%
General education72%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant70%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 52%
Hispanic 13% 22%
Asian 11% 9%
Black 1% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Franklin Ave
Nutley, NJ 07110
Phone: (973) 661-8824

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Forest Glen School
Bloomfield, NJ


Lyndhurst High School
Lyndhurst, NJ


Bloomfield High School
Bloomfield, NJ


North Arlington High School
North Arlington, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT