Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6 & Ungraded
Public district
Nutley, NJ
Students enrolled: 466
 

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Yantacaw Elementary School 5

Posted January 28, 2015
- a parent
I am writing because I can not say enough about my son's kindergarten teacher, Mrs Pied! The 5 stars r 4 her! The school itself has plenty of areas that could use improvement but I won't get into that, I will only focus on her. She is an amazing teacher!! My son has learned so much already!! Academically, he has come so far but he also has grown in many other ways. She makes all the kids feel special and she goes out of her way for them. She is very nurturing and loving! My son can be a hand full and we were nervous about him starting school but Mrs. Pied knows exactly how to deal with him and make him feel special! She has complete control in her class room yet the children have so much fun with her silliness and inventive ideas! My son is excited every week to share with the family what musician of the week they are listening to or what the big word of the week is! For example, he used the word obliterate while talking to his brother the other day :) She makes my son work hard to get his star everyday for good behavior because after 10 he gets a reward :) I can go on and on about Mrs. Pied but lets just say I am thoroughly impressed by her talent and her effort.
2 people found this helpful

Yantacaw Elementary School 2

Posted December 20, 2013
- a parent
This school lacks compassion and empathy towards special needs kids. This is felt in the general atmosphere of the school environment. We had the misfortune of having a K-Teacher who was low energy, weak classroom management style resulting in rowdy and rambunctious kids. Administrators lack experience and too defensive to deal with serious matters.


Yantacaw Elementary School 2

Posted May 02, 2012
- a parent
Good school as far as content. Most teachers appear to care but there are a select few that are no longer there for the kids, CLEARLY!!. They are what some of the mothers call " the screamers". Their behavior is not becoming for a someone in their position. They insult the children. As nice as the principal appears to be he is just a figure head. He does not run the school. There is no sense in speaking with him about any teachers. I know he has not been with Yantacaw for too long, but as a principal he should care about the children and how they are being treated and not fear for" teachers' revenge ". Step up Mr. S and Man up!!!

Yantacaw Elementary School 3

Posted November 28, 2010
- a parent
Yantacaw is a very old school, but they have been working on it since the end of summer and it is a very great school. Most teachers are friendly with the occasional tough ones, but most of them had retired which is what we needed. The principal needs to make the parents more aware of what is going on in the school...also some parents in school events have been rude to other races of parents....Just had to put that out there. Most of the kids have ended up in good education. Overall this is a great school.

Yantacaw Elementary School 3

Posted May 09, 2010
- a parent
School need to be repaired. There is no proper planning to pick and drop off kids. When it rains all students and parents will get wet. No gym, no play ground. Academics wise this is good school. They give proper home work. After teaching every lesson they conduct test on that , when ur child get her/his test folder u will know how well she/he doing.


Yantacaw Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
My son goes to Yantacaw and I haven't been pleased with the Principal Leadership. Parents who are concerned about particular teachers should be heard and proactive actions put in place instead parents being ignored or lied to.

Yantacaw Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
Because it gives the students a wonderful education and prepares them for a responsible life.

Yantacaw Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 12, 2008
- a parent
A good school. A badly needed new pricipal is on the way in sept 08. PTO is very active - lots of extras for the kids. Some teachers need to retire. Parent participation in the class room actually discouraged - hopefully this will change with new pricipal. Class size is average. Gifted/ talented programs available beginning 2007. School building is old - getting repairs beginning 2008 - no playground, no 'cafeteria' - kids eat in the gym.


Yantacaw Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Yantacaw Elementary School 5

Posted May 24, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Yantacaw Elementary School
20 Yantacaw Place, Nutley, NJ  07110
(973) 661-8891
Last modified Yantacaw Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Yantacaw Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top