Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Ungraded|Private
140 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Phoenix Center 5

Posted July 23, 2015
- a parent
My son has attended THE Phoenix Center for ten years and we have made great strides through those years. Through our ups-and-downs with Autism, Phoenix has been a steady support -- staff has treated us "like family" They have gone above and beyond for us, and my son's success "Shines!" -- We highly recommend this school - a parent

The Phoenix Center 1

Posted December 04, 2014
- a parent
Teachers seem rude to students. Teachers and aides don't seem to be up to the standard of intelligenceintelligence needed for this type of work. Not a great environment for Student development. High nepotism Going on. Just an all around negative environment to be around.


The Phoenix Center 1

Posted March 15, 2014
- a community member
Terrible terrible school. If the child is not up to the way they want him or she to be that child is thrown in a padded room called the ALE. The teachers do not cooperate with other teacher from outside the school and lie to you all the. Every one there lies. We have caught them in many. Would never recommend this school to anyone.

The Phoenix Center 1

Posted May 15, 2013
- a community member
The Phoenix Center is a near-fraudulent operation. The students are given worksheets all day and have virtually no instruction. The special ed teachers are apparently hired based on their appearance and connections to other faculty members, and they are rarely nice to the students. I'm glad a few students have succeeded here, but they are the exception.

The Phoenix Center 5

Posted December 15, 2008
- a parent
The Phoenix Center is an outstanding school for students with a wide range of special needs. The staff are highly qualified, enthusiastic, and passionate about their work. The programs help kids achieve higher levels academically while also teaching real life skills and job readiness. My daughter has made enormous progress in a short period of time, and feels positively about school and herself for the first time in years.


The Phoenix Center
no rating

Posted May 08, 2008
- a parent
We love the Phoenix Center! My son has made SO much progress. The staff is wonderful and if you have any problem or concern, administration jumps right in to help you. I wouldn't change it for anything. My son bounced from school to school, but he's been there for 4 years and we LOVE it!

The Phoenix Center 1

Posted August 17, 2006
- a parent
It is with great regret that I write this. My son was accepted at the Phoenix Center with a very specific IEP which the Phoenix Center School refused to follow. When you choose a school for your child make sure the placement reads your childs IEP in full, cover to cover, so when the child starts there there is no question(s) of what is expected. They did not do this for our child until 6 months later and then decided they could not fulfill the needs of our son. I would not recommend this school for children on the Autism Spectrum.

The Phoenix Center 5

Posted June 17, 2005
- a parent
The phoenix center is a great school for children with special need. My son has attend the school for 7years. anybody that work with a child with special need and have the patience are true teachers, they have a great academic program.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Phoenix Center
16 Monsignor Owens Place, Nutley, NJ  07110
(973) 542-0743
Last modified The Phoenix Center is a Private school
The Phoenix Center Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top