Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Barnstable Academy

Private | 5-12 | 110 students

college prep, small class sizes, invidualized attention
 
 

 

Living in Oakland

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $410,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,520.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 17, 2009

Barnstable has changed my child's life. He now enjoys going to school and looks forward to each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2009

Our 2 kids love Barnstable for so many reasons! Our daughter is in 5th grade and our son is in 7th. Our son started as 5th grader and when we saw the difference in him, we couldn't wait to enroll our daughter. The teachers truly care for the kids! The small teacher to student ratio has worked wonders for our son who has ADHD and suffered in the public school system. Now because he is always accountable and gets attention in a small setting he does extremely well. Our daughter loves the performing arts in the school. Our baby girl will be there in 6 years too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

My 7th grader is flourishing like never before! I love Barnstable Academy for so many things; small class size, personalized approach to learning/teaching, caring teachers. I wish I got my daughter in 5th grade. She is a happier more adjusted child because of Barnstable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

Barnstable Academy was the best thing to happen to my daughter! Came there as a shy freshman and is leaving as an outgoing, social educated yound adult! Thank you Barnstable's for giving my daughter the ability to go forward in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2009

Barnstable Academy has changed my son's life for the better! The teachers have provided him with a caring and safe educational environment, as a result, he is flourishing for the first time in his life. I can't say enough for how the school's small class sizes and curriculum has benefited my son. If your child isn't learning well in a traditional setting like mine, your child will thrive at Barnstable. I love it!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

Barnstable Acadeny is able to provide my daughter with an outstanding education, as well as, making her feel comfortable, valuable and happy. Her experience in the public school system denied her the feeling of acceptance and the academics were not to her ability. Barnstable embraces my daughter allowing her to achieve her dream... as well as mine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My son Zachary entered Barnstable Academy at the end of 8th grade and is currently a Sophomore. As a parent and a teacher, I cannot fully esxpress how grateful I am to have found this school for my son. I have seen a boy whose confidence plummeted to an all time low, skyrocket to where he accepts nothing less for himself than a place on the honor roll every semester.Students are treated with kindness and respect as individuals by every teacher & encouraged to persue their interests. Success oriented, Barnstable Academy prepares kids not only for college level academics but for becoming responsible and caring adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

My daughter entered Barnstable in September and I cannot say enough good things about everyone. The staff, the teachers and even the students care about one another. She entered afraid of going to school, now she cannot wait to get to school. The academics are challenging, but there is always help available. The students are expected to learn the same materials as in public schools. Critical thinking is a main focus--not teaching to a standardized test. Barnstable was the best decision we made the best decision for our daughter!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

My daughter will be starting at Barnstable in September. While our home district refused to test her, the folks at Barnstable couldn't believe she didn't have an ed plan and asked me if they could do an evaluation! The future is looking brighter already.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2008

Because of Barnstable's personal attention and nurturing environment, my son has thrived. He was not excelling academically or socially, so we transfered him from the public school system during 8th grade. He is now a senior and doing extremely well. Not only has he competed on some of Barnstable's athletic teams, but he is involved in many social activities. He has applied to six colleges and has been accepted to all. We have many options for his future and we are grateful for all that Barnstable has done for our son!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

This school was highly recommended to me for my daughter; all sources stated a wonderful environment in which she could concentrate and be challenged with her academics. Now I find that she is bored with the school and her highschool social studies textbook is the same she was taught with in the fourth grade. Most if not all of the students are far behind their age group in level of IQ and many have distracting disorders which prevent her from focusing on her schoolwork. The food served at lunches is unhealthy and the price asked to attend the school is ridiculous because it doesn't include fees for lunches or bussing (the fee for which is extremely high.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

I cannot speak highly enough about Barnstable. I belive that this environment has truly saved my son. He is able to excel in all academic aspects in a small, nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2004

Some of the teachers were good and some where bad. There was one amazing teacher named Mrs. Deigan. She was definatly the best teacher i have ever seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2003

My son benefits from the supportive, nurturing environment at Barnstable Academy where his accommodations are provided with understanding and respect for his learning differences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2003

My daughter entered school with a minor learning disability and thanks to the interest and caring of the teachers, she improved her self-esteem and even went on to college. Since then, she earned her masters degree and is currently teaching in a middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2003

I am a former student from Barnstable Academy. Barnstable provided me with the opportunity and the right environment for me to succeed academically, athletically, and socially. I am now pursuing a masters degree in Education and hope to be teaching students with similar needs.


Posted August 10, 2003

I really enjoyed my years at Barnstable Academy. The teachers were great, although I did feel some of them could have been better. It's really a nice place to go.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 51%
Hispanic 7% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 9%
Black 5% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Public
Other private
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 15% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 80% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 5% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation The College of New Jersey
Ithaca College
Montclair State University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Youth Inaugural Confernce Leadership Development Award

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Lizanne M. Coyne
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NIPSA
Fax number
  • (201) 337-9797

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
  • Internships

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Executive Function Workshops
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Hiking
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Literary magazine
  • Ski/Snowboarding
  • Student newspaper
  • War Strategies
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Parent Ambassadors
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


3 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
56
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
190
Students typically come from these schools
Public
Other private

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$25000 - $30000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
small liberal arts
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 15%
4 year college - 80%
Vocational - 5%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8 Wright Way
Oakland, NJ 07436
Website: Click here
Phone: (201) 651-0200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Colonial Road School
Franklin Lakes, NJ



Lincoln Elementary School
Pompton Lakes, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT