Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Barnstable Academy

Private | 5-12 | 110 students

college prep, small class sizes, invidualized attention
 
 

 

Living in Oakland

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $410,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,520.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2014

Yes, this is the haven to send your underachieving little darling in the desperate hopes that if they attended a high school straight out of a TV-sitcom (no real schoolwork to do , goofball teachers, lots of partying and the occasional flashmob dance number) , they'll finally start producing what all those years of psychotherapy adderal and klonopin failed to: A well adjusted, university bound young adult. You, the upper-middle class parent, know this deep down. However, you're desperate to get this underacheiver out of your hair for at least a year or two while you say to yourself "S/he's in good hands, now! Just look at that report card! And so many friends now!" It's all an illusion. however its an illusion you're more than happy to pay 30K a year for. Just until they straighten up , right? ....Right?


Posted March 26, 2014

Barnstable Academy is a great school for people who can not excel in a public school environment. It is small and the scheduling is simple. The extracurricular activities give you an opportunity to find out what you like and open your eyes to talents you wouldn't have known about otherwise. however, Barnstable isn't a school for academically gifted students or students who excel in extracurricculars. Since most of the students who attend BA are students who need to be in a smaller environment in order to succeed, students who are great at academics are not as challenged as they could be. They try their hardest, but there is much room for improvement. There are no AP classes, and independent study is very rare. This also goes for the electives. Many of the electives are made for people to just find their interests. If a child is already talented in the arts or in sports, they will not be challenged by attending this school. It's great for a child who might not get an opportunity to participate in other schools, but not for students who would like to play the sport in college. Overall, Barnstable is a land of opportunity for people that need it.


Posted December 7, 2013

My daughter has attended Barnstable Academy for four years and is in her last year. Coming from a large school where gifted students and special needs students receive the most attention, I felt my daughter was "falling through the cracks." After attending BA for only a short time, she blossomed, regained her confidence and succeeded far beyond any expectation. I can honestly say this is due to the amazing teaching staff who become mentors and truly care about each and every student. They work to help students achieve their top potential and are available 24/7 for help of any kind. The school offers wonderful physical education, art, drama and journalism electives and students become like a family. The environment is one of respect, nurturing, and growth and I feel extremely grateful that we had such an amazing alternative to public school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

My daughter attended Barnstable Academy from middle school throughout her high school years. Their unique teaching style enabled her to attain her high school diploma and she has gone on to studying direct health care at one of our schools. She will be interning at a local hospital in January as well as at a school for handicapped children. I cannot recomment Barnstable Academy highly enough for children whose learning style is someone different. The Administration and the Teaching staff are caring, professional and always responsive to parental input and concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

My son is in his second year at Barnstable, it has been a great experience for him academically. He really enjoys his teachers, who are attentive, caring and always available to help. The small class size and extra help have been a great support for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

Our daughter is in her second year at Barnstable. Not only does she love the school ~ she is thriving academically and socially. The benefits include small classes, extra help, but most importantly, the teachers are inspiration and passionate about about their work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

Our daughter just completed her 2nd year at Barnstable: she will be a senior next year. We have been exceptionally happy with the care and attention she has received at Barnstable. The teachers and administration have been exceptionally caring and helpful throughout the two years. On the eve of our daughter's first big Spanish exam, we got a phone call at home from the Spanish teaching asking if our daughter was feeling OK about the exam and he offered any help he could give so that she would study effectively. The Barnstable staff go above and beyond in their efforts to make school productive, supportive, and successful. Along with my wife and daughter, I have felt welcomed at Barnstable and I am very grateful that we found this exceptional school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

My child entered Barnstable in high school after performing poorly in our public school. He may never be an A student but he has his self-esteem back an is happy to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

My 7th grader loves going to school every day. My husband and I are thrilled!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2012

The administration should write more and actually tell more of their great stories. Barnstable Academy was the school where my son thrived. For five years, he became invested in his learning. He grew from a little boy to a fine young man with skills to navigate in college. He is doing remarkably well in his first year of college. Thank you, Barnstable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

Don't believe reviews. Probably posted by administrators. State should investigate the school. I hope it does soon. Interview parents of students who left and why.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

My child is extremely happy at Barnstable! He loves his teachers and feels like he is getting the attention he needs from the small classroom setting. We are so pleased he has a found a safe, nurturing environment where he can thrive academically and socially!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2012

Three cheers for Barnstable. Wonderful classes, soccer and performing arts. My child truly shines there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

Barnstable has made all the difference for my college bound boys. They have been at Barnstable since seventh grade and one is now a senior applying to Colby and Bates. The public school was focused on their either being a behavior problem or emotionally disturbed. Barnstable focused on them having a different learning style, understood them, and taught them well. They never had any behavior problems from them. The teachers are very professional and care about your child learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

Being a part of the Barnstable Academy family for the past 6 years has been the best! Like I said FAMILY! I pulled my son out of the public school mid year of 7th grade and enrolled him in BA - he is now a graduating senior with acceptances to 8 colleges! My son has grown emotional and academically. He was giving the opportunity to be a confident student athlete at Barnstable. Without the support of such amazing professionals he would never have achieved his goals to date. Thank you Barnstable Academy for letting me and my family be a part of such a wonderful institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2010

Best decision my family ever made for both of our children who had very different needs and somehow found exactly what they needed in one place, Barnstable Academy! My son was anxious and needed to feel safe and loved and my daughter's IEP was not being followed in her public school. Both of my children are heading to good colleges and are confident and thriving since they were taught in the manner in which they needed to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

This school saved my daughters life......literally!!! She had low self esteem, wasn't working up to her ability, and really had no clue how to navigate the social scene of her large public high school. From her first day at Barnstable Academy she felt like she was home. They treated her well both staff and students and now I truly feel like I have the child/student she was always meant to be. She is confident, getting good grades, has a nice group of friends from Barnstable (although she did stay friends with one or two kids from her old school) I can't thank Barnstable Academy enough for what they did for my daughter and my family......because we all know an unhappy child can upset the entire family dynamic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

not what it is cracked up to be sending my child there was the worse decision of my life
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2010

Two of our children attended Barnstable Academy, one entering in March of her junior year and the other starting in 6th grade. The lasting gift Barnstable gave to our children was to help them feel good about themselves again. Both of our children entered Barnstable at low points in their young lives and both graduated well aware of their special talents and confident in their ability to face the world. Our daughter graduated college at the top of her class and is very successful in her chosen career. Our son was just offered a significant scholarship midway through his freshman year in college, acknowledging him as 'the most outstanding freshman' in his area of concentration. I attribute his success to the education and support he got from the teachers and staff at Barnstable Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2009

Barnstable has changed my child's life. He now enjoys going to school and looks forward to each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 51%
Hispanic 7% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 9%
Black 5% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Public
Other private
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 15% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 80% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 5% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation The College of New Jersey
Ithaca College
Montclair State University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Youth Inaugural Confernce Leadership Development Award

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Lizanne M. Coyne
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NIPSA
Fax number
  • (201) 337-9797

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
  • Internships

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Executive Function Workshops
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Hiking
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Literary magazine
  • Ski/Snowboarding
  • Student newspaper
  • War Strategies
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Parent Ambassadors
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


3 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
56
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
190
Students typically come from these schools
Public
Other private

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$25000 - $30000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
small liberal arts
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 15%
4 year college - 80%
Vocational - 5%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8 Wright Way
Oakland, NJ 07436
Website: Click here
Phone: (201) 651-0200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Colonial Road School
Franklin Lakes, NJ



Lincoln Elementary School
Pompton Lakes, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT