Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5 & Ungraded
Public district
Old Bridge, NJ
Students enrolled: 390
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Raymond E. Voorhees Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
My children enjoyed their first year at Voorhees. They had many fun activities for both students and families throughout the school year. It was great to see them want to go to school every morning! The school is small compared to most, so they were able to make close friendships quickly. From a teacher's perspective, their reading, writing and math is where its supposed to be. In fact, they continue to impress me from time to time. We are looking forward to a new school year at Voorhees!

Raymond E. Voorhees Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
Anytime I had a question or concern the teachers responded to my emails quickly and to my satisfaction.


Raymond E. Voorhees Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
For my children, the amount of homework given was just right. Too much homework would have taken time way from physical activities, which they also need to stay healthy.

Raymond E. Voorhees Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
Both of my children are dedicated to completing their homework daily. In fact, they were upset they didn't have homework on Saturday and Sunday!

Raymond E. Voorhees Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
Both of my children have memorized the school pledge, which emphasizes having respect for others.


Raymond E. Voorhees Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
My children have been taught to be "bucket fillers," meaning they want to say and do kind things for others.

Raymond E. Voorhees Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
Part of the curriculum at Voorhees is set aside to teach students about character and how to treat others.

Raymond E. Voorhees Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 17, 2015
- a parent
I don't think this is the case at Voorhees now, but teachers were really dedicated years ago to develop good learning skills, persistence, and determination to succeed in their students. Now I have a feeling they are just coming to work to get salary.


Raymond E. Voorhees Elementary School 3

Posted June 17, 2015
- a parent
The school has definitely deteriorated over the years since my older child went there. Teachers do not care as much about the kids, they are not as dedicated, and quality of education gone down tremendously. Instead of bringing children to the level of the strongest students, they bring smart kids down to make the weak students feel good about themselves. I guess this is what "No child left behind" is about in Voorhees terms.

Raymond E. Voorhees Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 17, 2015
- a parent
Unless you are a PTA committee mom milling around the school all day, your child will not be treated with fairness, even if he/she is getting all A'a and B's and participating actively in school's life. This was the case with both of my kids at Voorhees and left me feeling very bitter about this school. Oh, and be prepared being "stamped" with "special needs" child, if you kid is quiet, reserved, and not in the teachers face all the time. Had to fight for my little introvert A-B student not to be thrown into special ed class!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Raymond E. Voorhees Elementary School
11 Liberty Street, Old Bridge, NJ  08857
(732) 360-4544
Last modified Raymond E. Voorhees Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Raymond E. Voorhees Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top