Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southwood Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 17 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

We love Southwood! Great teachers, principal and PTA. Looking forward to my children going there the next des years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

I love our school they have done amazing things the past two years. Fundraising, family nights, teachers really care about students education. They work with you according to your childs learning. Teacher web sites, parent portal. Honeywell system calls to remind parents od school functions and emergency closing. Super involved PTA and principal that really cares about students learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

Southwood Elementary School is fabulous. From the principal, teachers, nurse and all other staff members to the cirriculum and experience for your children they are all amazing! I am very impressed!! We are very happy here and I am glad my children get to be part of the Southwood family. Wouldn't trade it for the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

I have children in southwood elementary in grades K, 1 & 4. The environment is friendly and cooperative and teachers are always to willing to work with me to suit my childs needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

I have been at Southwood for 10 years with all of my children who attended and still are attending. It is a great school to be proud of. We have great teachers and the principal we have now is really doing things to improve the school and the curriculum as well as striving to improve the environment around them. We have a fantastic and hard working PTA who is very involved and provides many things and opportunities for the children. It is a school I would recommend to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

I have had wonderful teachers so far and my child has loved everyday at school. Teachers are very good with communication and we take advantage of pta activities. Also we are all making wonderful friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

it was my school as a child and now my children go there. Great teachers, great programs, great PTA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

I am a Parent of 3 children , one graduated last yr and I have a Kindergartener & 4th grader. I find the new principal very involved and caring, I love the faculty and find them very helpful in helping with problems academicly. My children are good students, but have area's that need help...They have always adressed the area's and cared for the childrens education with care and patience. I give Southwood a 9 out of 10 stars.Extra curicular activies lack, other than that I think the are doing a fantastic job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2007

This academic focus is primarily on the average student. This school lacks in helping students that fall below or above the norm. For students who are above the norm the assistance is minimal and at times diluted. A strong focus is spent on standardized testing. There is little tolerance and encouragement for divergent thinkers. Students are not encouraged nor taught how to become self taught learners. Assignments are repetitive and lack analysis of students true development. I find that administrators and teachers dismiss parents concerns of academic success. Discipline is instituted without a proper thought as to the goal or purpose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2007

While I am very happy with the academics at this school I would like to see more extra curricula activity (any) given to children at this school. The new principal has a very good raport with the children and parents and for that I am grateful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

I am very happy with the schools academics, I have a 2nd and 4th grader in Southwood & the teachers are GREAT!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students65%
Female73%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special educationn/a
General education64%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant65%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students81%
Female77%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
General education83%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant81%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students67%
Female65%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Special educationn/a
General education72%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant67%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students86%
Female85%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White84%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special educationn/a
General education86%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant86%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students98%
Female95%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White97%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
General education97%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant98%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students74%
Female86%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
General education83%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant74%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students92%
Female91%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
General education95%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant92%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 51%
Hispanic 11% 22%
Black 8% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs Karen Foley

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

64 Southwood Dr
Old Bridge, NJ 08857
Phone: (732) 360-4539

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT