Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5 & Ungraded
Public district
Old Bridge, NJ
Students enrolled: 332
 

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Walter M. Schirra Elementary School 2

Posted March 10, 2015
- a parent
The principal leaves much to be desired! She will speak to you as if you are a child sitting in her office getting in trouble. Some of the teachers are no better. This school lacks in respect for parents and their commutation with them. Myself along with other parents have had many complaints regarding how they handle issues between students. They are unfortunately ignored and swept under a rug. This school needs to make many changes! Attitude and staff need an overhaul!
2 people found this helpful

Walter M. Schirra Elementary School 1

Posted February 28, 2015
- a parent
Most 3 star and up reviews for this school are old. This is primarily because the quality of the teaching and the administration is rapidly deteriorating for the past few years. The negative attitude stems from the top of the school. The principal is rude and stand offish, the teachers are not all that interested in the students or their accomplishments and the students are treated dis respectfully on a daily basis. The parents are kept out of the school as much as possible. There is no team effort to help the children learn . If there was a rating below one star, I would give the school that rating.
3 people found this helpful


Walter M. Schirra Elementary School 4

Posted September 28, 2007
- a parent
This is a good school with a great PTA. The new principal's first year was excellent and we have the scores to prove it. My 2nd grader is very happy here.

Walter M. Schirra Elementary School 4

Posted June 15, 2006
- a student
Good foundation building for children; I found the teachers particularly caring and attentive.

Walter M. Schirra Elementary School 3

Posted May 02, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Walter M. Schirra Elementary School 3

Posted February 01, 2006
- a parent
The teachers are great. They really strive to work with your child. The problem is the class size is very large. This makes it difficult for the teacher to address each child's needs.

Walter M. Schirra Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2005
- a parent
Both my children, 6 and 10, go to Schirra. Schirra is a school where the children come first and parent involvement is extremely high. The principal, teachers and staff are professional, kind, skilled and friendly and I have found all teachers to be very approachable. Each child is encouraged to do their personal best and have adopted a Challenge Program for outstanding students in certain subjects. The school has an enrollment of 400 plus, the atmosphere and attention to the needs of the children is high quality. The teachers are skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. The PTA brings wonderful after school activities to the families throughout the year and I feel my daughters are getting an excellent education. Schirra consistently receives high scores in state and national testing and the principal strives to make each year better than the last.

Walter M. Schirra Elementary School 3

Posted February 19, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Walter M. Schirra Elementary School 4

Posted September 09, 2003
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walter M. Schirra Elementary School
One Awn St, Old Bridge, NJ  08857
(732) 360-4495
Last modified Walter M. Schirra Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Walter M. Schirra Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top