Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Calvary Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 315 students

We are best known for faith in Jesus Christ.
 
 

 

Living in Old Bridge

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $280,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2014

Calvary Christian School in Old Bridge NJ My children have all attended this school from the beginning. They have all achieved great success and growth academically, spiritually, athletically, and socially because of all of the attention that they received from the ENTIRE staff at CCS. Because of the extended nuturing that my son received, he is now attending a Division I school in the North East on a scholarship. He seamlessly made the transistion from a small school to a larger school because of the challenging courses he took at CCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2014

The teachers are not professional. They lack experience, education and training. With regard to academics and teacher training, this school does not compare to a good public school. It just does not have the facilities and resources. The teachers are not certified by the state of NJ. The strengths of this school are the parents and children who attend it. Parents are caring and involved and children are generally well-mannered.


Posted December 3, 2013

We started to send our kid to this school from this year. She absolutely loves this school. The teachers are awesome . We are very pleased to notice the change from our kid in a most positive way. I will certainly recommend this school to other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

We love Calvary Christian School. All of the administration and staff love the Lord and want to see my children grow in their walk with Jesus. The academics are also first rate with Honors and AP level course work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

Calvary Christian School is a wonderful school. Teachers are caring and talented. My child is finally mastering math concepts. The administrators really care about the kids and parents. My oldest child has had numerous internship opportunities and now has a lot of college options. You would never get this kind of attention and concern anywhere else. I love this school and I would recommend it to anyone. Not sure what the person who posted the negative review is talking about. Obviously someone who is disgruntled. I have to emphatically disagree with the comments made. I have been to 2 other schools and this one is by far the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2013

I sent my two children to this school and they hated it and so did I. The teachers and staff had absolutely no experience and were most definitely not friendly to newcomers. My children felt left out because we don't attend church there and were treated differently from children who did attend church there. I would never recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2010

If you want a school where Christian discipleship and excellent academics are priority, then this is your place. Families are committed to the Lord here and we have met some really nice people in our 4 years of attendance. They challenge students according to their ability...if they can go farther, they help them achieve. If they need extra help, they get it for them. Conflict is resolved in a loving, Biblical way. My kids feel safe and have met lifelong friends. Tuition is reasonable too for a private school. And it's going up to 12th grade so they can graduate there. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

My son is a new student at Calvary Christian school, and we both love it. Unfortunatelly we have the experience of this being his fourth school, so we have what to comapare it to. Everyone is on the same page, everyone (students, parents and staff) are putting God first and then all else follows. If you are looking for a God centered education this is the place. The education is challenging....and the teachers I came across are awesome. Hope this helps.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

My sons just started the school year at CCS. I must say I love it and most importantly they love it! Everyone here is a family. The education is challenging. Family is key here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 9%
Hispanic 7% 22%
Black 6% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:55 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Eric Morris
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (732) 679-1948

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Internships
  • Standards-based
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the Lunchroom
More from this school
  • We are focused on providing Christian leadership development. High school students are given opportunities to be involved in ministry/career internships.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
40
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
75

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

123 White Oak Lane
Old Bridge, NJ 08857
Website: Click here
Phone: (732) 479-0700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Ambrose School
Old Bridge, NJ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT