Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-7 & Ungraded
Public district
Orange, NJ
Students enrolled: 356
 

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Forest Street School 3

Posted February 05, 2014
- a teacher
Forest Street was "my school." I was the sixth grade teacher there during the 1970-71 school year, That was the most challenging, most satisfying, and very best of my 40 years of teaching. As with all schools in poorer neighborhoods, we still need to make immense strides in adjusting learning environments and expectations to the learners. That can be be said of any school population, but economic conditions are probably the most powerful impact of any on learning success. My biggest challenge was trying to work with a principal who was out of his element, very "old school," and actually afraid of the parents. By Christmas, he was taking sick leave for the remainder of the school year and finally took a position elsewhere. I hope that was good for the great people of the Forest Street neighborhood. The fondest memories of my teaching remain with those good people of Forest Street from the 1970-71 6th grade.

Forest Street School 1

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
I can't say enough about this school and the staff. My son went there for 3 years, all of which he was constantly bullied and even jumped by 5 kids on the way home from school a few times. I had to watch at all times for signs of depression. It was overwhelming. They did not nothing but expel HIM from school for making something "unallowed" out of paper. Really? I'm glad we are moving to a better school district.
1 person found this helpful


Forest Street School 3

Posted May 16, 2011
- a community member
As a former student, and valedictorian of Forest Street School, i believe the school has done a wonderful job at allowing students to increase their prior knowledge, but the school lacks the experience to help struggling students to arrive at the required level. I just hope one day, the school will grow and improve... untill then, goodluck.

Forest Street School 5

Posted March 29, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Forest Street School 3

Posted July 31, 2009
- a parent
The school is moving in the right direction with the principal and staff working closely with parents The children are learning to empower themselves so this means they are eager to learn and know there is no limitaion .In Forest there is a morning message read by the principal that is encouraging for the students, staff and parents.


Forest Street School 0
no rating

Posted July 28, 2009
- a parent
The principal at Forest Street School does not demonstrate leadership skills to the students or educators. A person that can take charge and execute excellent learning plans would be a great benefit to this school and its staff.
2 people found this helpful

Forest Street School 5

Posted February 25, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Forest Street School 5

Posted November 15, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Forest Street School
651 Forest St, Orange, NJ  07050
(973) 677-4120
Last modified Forest Street School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Forest Street School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top