Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-8
Private
Palisades Park, NJ
Students enrolled: 311

3 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


38 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Notre Dame Interparochial School 5

Posted July 24, 2013
- a community member
i graduated from here. this school has built me into the young women i am today. i strive with the support i got from my teachers and coaches to be better. i am a girl who played on the boys basketball team after being "tormented" about it from other parents from different schools saying i was "too tough". i was told every morning walking up the stairs from parents saying "you are an amazing player. i want my child to play like you do. your gonna be amazing in life." notre dame gave me a chance to branch out. the teachers and coached still tell me that im able to get help from them any time. if you have a daughter who has a love for basktetball and is looking for a competition, this is the right school. the education as well is great and so is the support. not every school is perfect. so there will be problems. but im proud to say im a graduate of notre dame interparocial academy

Notre Dame Interparochial School 2

Posted June 12, 2013
- a parent
While I applaud the principal for making one change in the middle school, not enough is being done to prepare these kids or high school and beyond. The 8th grade teacher is still in place and still a bully. Children are threatened constantly. Many children were accepted into good schools this year-all of which had additional help outside of Notre Dame. Mek and Huntington must love Notre Dame families! We keep them in business! As stated by others, lower grade classes can be okay but upper grades need more qualified staffing.


Notre Dame Interparochial School 4

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
Overall, am satisfied with the school. Do think there are only two types of teachers, those that are so stressed, its hard for them to be effective, those that are so tough, the inflict great stress on the kids and parents. Teacher and staff development including coping skills and situation management for the teachers is important. I do believe that the staff genuinly cares about the kids and does their best to educate them...just may need to let up a bit sometimes and the kids will perform better. Need to develop a sense of school spirit that was cultivated in past years.

Notre Dame Interparochial School 1

Posted December 11, 2012
- a parent
In agreement with most here. Lower grades are okay-good in some cases, Unfortunately when the children get to the middle school level, things are lacking and in many cases very bad. I will say that they finally hired a middle school math teacher and bumped down the previous one. This is a step in the right direction. Actually having someone (somewhat qualified) is better than what has been there for too long. Many changes still need to be made to give this school more than a weak one star rating. Bullying (by teachers)is still an issue and there is little to no interaction with Parish priests. One more year and my family will be finished. We have stayed to let my second child graduate. If I had to do over, I would have chosen a true Catholic school. One with compassion and caring.

Notre Dame Interparochial School 5

Posted October 01, 2012
- a parent
Notre Dame has been a great school. My child has been a student at ND since Pre K and we have no complaints. It's a small school where everyone knows eachother and we have felt it to be like a family. Can't speak for the parents with the negative experiences. Sometimes, parents and students have to take some responsiblity for certain situations and/or outcomes. For those searching for a school for your child, just remember, there is no "perfect school". But if you want a family like environment, good education with upto date technology, plays that are preformed every year, co-ed basketball team, cheerleading, NJHS, Gifted and Talented, and more then you should really consider NDA.


Notre Dame Interparochial School 1

Posted June 13, 2012
- a parent
One star is being generous. Upper grades specifically 7th and 8th are beyond bad. The teachers have been in place far too long with no disciplinary action for the many cases of wrong doing. If you have a young man in these grades,you will have an issue. I urge you to speak to a parent of an 8th grade boy. Bullying by teachers should not happen . EVER. But it does and the principal has done nothing to correct these issues.

Notre Dame Interparochial School 1

Posted May 31, 2012
- a parent
I am a Notre Dame parent with one child who has attended this school since 2003. We lived through the termination of the nuns and the new administration and will be leaving the school next week. I can honestly say that the lower grades up to 5th grade are acceptable. There are teachers who care and actually teach. Our toughest years have been 7th-8th grade. Constant issues with unnecessary drama caused by the two teachers in these grades. I question the qualifications of both teachers . Lessons are not explained well and the children are under extreme stress constantly. Children were not prepared at all for the COOP by these teachers. They charged $100+ for extra help preparing and then did little to nothing in the 45 minute sessions. Most (90%) parents hired tutors, former teachers and used places like Kumon and Mek at great expense to prepare their children. The school dropped the ball. COOP prep should have been a priority and it was not. Only constant threats of how the high schools would never accept children like them. Most got in to choice schools because of tutoring.Honor Society is a joke with no real qualifications to enter or activities to sustain. Would not do it again.

Notre Dame Interparochial School 2

Posted February 10, 2012
- a parent
There are very good points made here. This site states not to post names of teachers, students or staff. In all fairness the parent who stated his name- has a child in the lower grades. The issues shared here are very specific and many are about the 7th and 8th grade. Unless you have a child in those classrooms, or have had a child there, you have no idea what goes on there. I have strong feelings about these issues but would have never subjected my child to repercussions that have and do happen after such postings. This site is excellent in that it points out that people should ALWAYS look before they leap . Can this many concerns be unfounded? I have had 2 children graduate from this school and the issues of bullying and harassing the upper grade boys have existed for years. They are not new. One can blame it on the nuns, the priests or the current principal but the problems still exist. And parents have complained over the years. Many parents including myself. Maybe we all just had too much faith that at some point SOMEONE would do the right thing and make changes. Good luck to you all.


Notre Dame Interparochial School 2

Posted February 07, 2012
- a parent
Some teachers are above and beyond. Top notch. There are those though that should not be there. You wont't realize it until you hit 7th or 8th grade. Bullying should never be allowed. Bullied students or teachers is unacceptable. Ever. Fix this issue. Smart boards don't make an academy. No school is perfect, this one for sure not. Posted by a current parent.

Notre Dame Interparochial School 5

Posted February 07, 2012
- a parent
i went to catholic school thru grammar and high school. i wasn't sure about sending my son to catholic school, having seen how most catholic schools are forced to make due with sub-standard funding. that is not the case at notre dame. smart boards, ipads, new science equipment, a nicer gym than my high school, and on and on. it doesn't come cheaply, but it is a sacrifice my wife and i are comfortable making in the interest of my son's education. i suggest to anyone that is interested in having their child possibly attend this school, to visit the school and talk to parents. you'll find a welcoming community. then you can make an informed decision. you're not going to get much from this site when people are using it as a place to anonymously take shots at the same people they've entrusted their child's education to. and as a volunteer coach who receives nothing in return for my time and dedication to helping children learn and play a sport, if someone was going to take a shot at me, i'd expect the least they could do in return was put their name on it. -matt doyle, st joe's grammar school (wny) '89, st joe's high (wny) '93

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Notre Dame Interparochial School
312 1st Street, Palisades Park, NJ  07650
(201) 947-5262
Last modified Notre Dame Interparochial School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Notre Dame Interparochial School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top