Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Harry S. Truman Elementary School

Public | K-3 & ungraded | 465 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2014

Absolutely , hands down the best school in the township. I've never seen a school filled with teachers and a principle so dedicated. Every single teacher we encountered was nice, professional and so caring when it came to the children. Even the PTO is great. They do so much for the kids. Always so many parents volunteering. Amazing school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2012

My daughter is in 1st grade. All the teachers she has had are all great. Whenever i have any question just contact the teacher's by email and they reply promptly. Overall Education system is good in Truman. We are happy and satisfied with the Teacher and Class environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

Great school , Great teachers. We love Truman school ! ! The faculty and staff are very dedicated. We couldn't ask for a better school for our girls.Thanks to everyone for all your hard work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

Harry S. Truman School has been a wonderful learning and growing envuronment for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

the gifted & talented prgram is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

It has the best kids ever!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2009

Harry S. Truman School is a terrific school. The school is like a little family. The children are great and the parents are a group of hard working volunteers who work for the children and the school. We all help one another and do for each other. We do alot for the community and the school.


Posted September 10, 2009

I think Principal and Teachers of Truman School are fantastic. The guidance Counselor, Teachers, Secretary, Nurse, Principal were supportive to us and my child through a very difficult time. Truman School not only educate's our children to the highest level , but they also teach our children to care and to respect all. In a nut shell, Truman School not only educates but it brings up children of the future. *** Best part is Teachers including Principal are outside to receive/welcome the kids with a big smile *** !!WAY TO GO HARRY S TRUMAN SCHOOL!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

The art program is exceptional at Truman. They even have a website where their art can be viewed: artsonia.com. My daughter gets very excited when she receives comments on her artwork from her family and friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

My daughter goes to Truman. My daughter did not know how to read when she entered Kindergarten and was reading within 3 months of enrolling at Truman. I love the fact that I can keep in communication with the teachers via e-mail. I work full-time and it really makes my life easier to be able to e-mail the teachers with any questions or concerns. My daughter is going into second grade now and up until now I can say that the teachers have all been wonderful and very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2007

My son studies in Truman. It has full day Kindergarten! We have postponed our move so that our daughter can go to the same school. I love the school, the Principal, the teachers & the PTO. What more can I ask for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2006

My daughter is in 2nd grade. All the teachers she has had are all great. They are strict with tardys. Now you can contact the teacher's by email if you have any questions. They go on 2 class trips a year. The parents are very involved, lots of class moms and PTO.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students82%
Female87%
Male78%
Black87%
Asian81%
Hispanic76%
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special educationn/a
General education88%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant82%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students89%
Female89%
Male90%
Black80%
Asian97%
Hispanic77%
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
General education97%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant89%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 38% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 28% 9%
Hispanic 20% 22%
Black 12% 16%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Linda Coffey

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

One Taft Place
Parlin, NJ 08859
Phone: (732) 525-5215

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT