Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Passaic High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 171 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 21, 2012

They need to put cameras in the hallways, classrooms and bathrooms (not stalls), then it would be a good school. Also, the guidance counselors need to supply more practical information to the students.


Posted February 19, 2010

I am an alumnus of Passaic High School. I graduated in 2006, and I am currently on the road to become a physician. I can honestly say that Passaic High School did not adequately prepare me for undergraduate coursework. When I entered Rutgers University, I was in the same class as students who had the opportunity to take 20 AP classes their senior year of high school. In Genetics, for example, I was learning about Punnett squares for the first time in my life, while my friend from a different school district claimed it was his third time learning the material. Passaic High School is not a bad school if your child can overcome adversity and not succumb to other pressures, but overall, it did little to prepare me for the 'real' world, and I happen to be one of those who did succeed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2009

I'm only a freshman right now, but Passaic HighSchool is a perfectly fine place to be. I don't see why it would be one of the worsts schools. The teachers and other adults treat you like family- although sometimes they may have attitudes (watch out for those secretaries!), but they're nice. If you focus on your work and do what you have to do, everything will be fine. Plus, I love this school because of all the clubs it has- there are many many choices to choose from this website doesnt even name them all. This high school focuses alot on college too, there isnt a moment when they aren't talking about getting ready for college. Trust me, this is a good school if you do the right things and mind your business.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2008

passaic high school is a great place for students. they learn to be a independent and its filled with different kind's of cultures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2008

Passaic high school is a great school in which one can learn alot. I beleive that this school has so much to offer and it depands on an individual to take the advantage of what the school offers. I have only been in this school for 1 1/2 year but I have no major complaints about it. Yes, there are some things that arents the best in the school, but they are doable. Students graduating from this school have a sufficiant amount of knowledge to furthur their studies in college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2008

I love this school it is so much fun and interactive its a very good school
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 21, 2005

I am a proud parent of a Passaic High School student. I can honestly say that the school is what the student makes of it. Passaic has a lot to offer for those students that are goal oriented and seek to better themselves. Passaic High has excellent teachers, coaches, staff and a great Principal. To all the parents, we have to stay involved in our childrens education. This way we all succeed. It takes a village to raise a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2005

Currently I am a 17 year old Mexican-American female student attending Passaic High School.Personally speaking I don't think Passaic High School is a really bad school compared to others of sorrounding towns. It really is not as bad as people make it to be. If your a good student with goals and ambitions in life you will succeed even the worst school. remember is not the school that makes you is what you make of the school and how much you take advantage of what is given. Yes we may be overcrowded, but what school isn't now a days, and yeah we do have bad kids in our school but we should not all be judged over ones mistakes. So for the parents that do read my review, remember is not the school that makes the students is what the student makes of the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2004

This school is not safe at all. I've been put in situations where I had to watch for the safety of my life. The teachers don't care and it is too overcrowed. When I was in that school, the population was about 6,000.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

528 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

528 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students69%
Female71%
Male66%
Black70%
Asian85%
Hispanic68%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Special education28%
General education93%
English language learners32%
Not migrant69%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former40%
Limited English Proficient Former83%

Math

All Students53%
Female52%
Male54%
Black48%
Asian77%
Hispanic53%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Special educationn/a
General education78%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant53%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Former50%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

816 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
22%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students17%
Female15%
Male20%
Blackn/a
Asian53%
Hispanic17%
Pacific Islandern/a
White18%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged14%
Special educationn/a
General education22%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant17%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

45%

SAT college ready

5%

Graduation rate

71%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 88% 22%
Black 8% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 9%
White 1% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Tobias Weissman

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

170 Paulison Ave.
Passaic, NJ 07055
Phone: (973) 470-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Collegiate School
Passaic, NJ



Hope Academy
Passaic, NJ



Lighthouse Academy
Passaic, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT