Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Paterson, NJ
Students enrolled: 248

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rosa Parks Arts High School 1

Posted September 20, 2014
- a parent
Never keeps website up to date including the website about the kids grades. Some teachers never contact you back at all.

Rosa Parks Arts High School 0
no rating

Posted October 10, 2010
- a community member
Rosa Parks Arts High School is not only a school, it is like being with your family. They work very hard to ensure that everyone has the opportunity to be successful


Rosa Parks Arts High School 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a teacher
I teach at this high school, and every student becomes the priority of everyone in the building. From the audition process to graduation; with 98% going to a 2 or 4 year college, the students are the focal point of everyday. But the needs are beginning to outweigh the budget, We have an eight major performing arts program, yet the humanities, also have huge demands to keep up with a 21st century education. This win will go a long way to reaching the goals of preparing our students for a sound and prosperous future.

Rosa Parks Arts High School 5

Posted October 09, 2010
- a community member
As the first and only high school in our nation to be named after Mrs. Rosa L. Parks, we are a school family that takes great pride in embracing values that ensure academic achievement as well as social success. We believe and espouse respect, trust, support of others, equity, leadership, and community service through the arts. Because of budget constraints in our community and statewide, our school family and programs which extend beyond the walls of the school building, risk elimination. The programs have afforded our inner city young adults to realize 100% graduation- 10 of the last 12 years! 98% of our students go on to higher education, with scholarships! We have been recognized as one of our nation's best high schools by "US News and World Report". Our budget constraints, unfortunately, will not afford our students the myriad opportunities to continue to perform at such venues as the Rotunda in VIrginia, the NJ governor's mansion, Disneyworld, and Carnegie Hall. These performances serve as the barometer by which the students are assessed. Even though our students' socioeconomic status is labeled 'disadvantaged', through leading by example and tough love, the faculty and staff diligently labor to prove that inner city youth can excel!!! For you see, FAILURE IS NOT AN OPTION, is our montra!

Rosa Parks Arts High School 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
Excellent staff and students.


Rosa Parks Arts High School 5

Posted January 14, 2010
- a student
im a student at rosa parks, and its not perfect but its like having a second family.

Rosa Parks Arts High School 0
no rating

Posted August 16, 2009
- a parent
Rosa Parks High School of Fine and Performing Arts is a wonderful place to learn and grow. There is an awesome sense of family, unity and pride. Like every family, Rosa Parks has it's 'issues' but each one is handle like every 'good' family does; with love (sometimes tough love :-), forgiveness and acceptance. Students at Rosa Parks want to learn, teachers want to teach, and the administration and parents want to make sure that all the wheels move alone smoothly, a truly awesome and rewarding combination. Failure is NOT an option therefore everyone who 'chooses' success does succeed. I am PROUD to be a Rosa Parks Mom!!!!

Rosa Parks Arts High School 0
no rating

Posted August 03, 2009
- a community member
Family oriented, caring, progressive, goal seeking, values driven are just a few descriptors that can be found withing the halls of this high school. The atmosphere exudes a strong sense of values which are embraced by the faculty, staff as well as students. These values seem to serve as the catalyst for the students to desire to 'live' their motto, let us travel this far and further...let us go above and beyond...in the name of education. The faculty, administration, parents and staff seem to have a collegial relationship which fosters a sense of success and support for all of the students. I love this school for what it represents and for what it is able to do in the community and the extended communities.


Rosa Parks Arts High School 5

Posted December 07, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Rosa Parks Arts High School 0
no rating

Posted October 07, 2008
- a student
Rosa Parks is an excellent school and I could not imagine any place better to attend. Our school is a small family, complete with many different elements that make us harmoniously great in many different aspects. I hope to have children one day so that they have the same experience that I m having right now!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rosa Parks Arts High School
413 12th Avenue, Paterson, NJ  07514
(973) 321-0520
Last modified Rosa Parks Arts High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rosa Parks Arts High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top