Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Gerard Majella School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Paterson

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $110,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,310.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2014

The school is very expensive which they do not state when they are taking your enrollment fee. I technically paid 200 or so dollars which btw they do not refund for them to tell me the tuition each month. I am a single parent of two children I wanted to show my kids religion and but not at a place where money is paramount to their education. Thanks but no thanks!! I will not by any means refer anyone I know to this school. I will also make it my duty to let everyone I meet that is looking for a catholic school to put their child that St Gerard Majella the thieves is not the way to go!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2014

Do not send your child to this school my daughter had been yelled at for wearing a jacket in the classroom in the winter and almost got expelled for telling the principle sister johann that she was cold
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

This school is not better than the public schools in Paterson. The staff is not prepared or equiped to teach those kids for the price of the school. The only good thing about St. Gerard is that it is a Catholic school and they do teach kids about God
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2011

Excellent School! the staff is great with children and parents they help you with any situation for your child's needs. The school is safe and clean.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

Not better than the public school education just safer and quieter without the fights. Parents that can afford it are forced to send their kids here just to make sure there kids are safe. They do not prepare students for the state exams and the education itself is not of higher quality. The public schools outside of Paterson are of higher quality than our public and private schools. It's sad because our children have to compete in this world with the better educated children once they go to college and entire the work force. Sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

I am a graduate from St. Gerards, and I loved this school. I think the teachers were amazing and they nurtured me to be an excellent person with good characteristics, attitude, and intelligence. I think when liking a school, it depends upon the students' and the parents' attitudes to 'how' they get their education. If a student is more apt to learn, the better they will learn in the school. I excelled better in this school because the teachers cared. Most importantly, I was comfortable with my classmates and teachers, and I made amazing memories that I'm sure I could've never have made anywhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2009

A wonderful school. All 4 of my children as well as myself have attended this school and I find no complaints whatsoever. Education is simply fantastic, the school is safe and no principal anywhere cares for these students like Sister Joanne does. Don't hesitate to send your children there you will be amazed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

Excellent school. Caring teachers and staff. Sr joanne an angel
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

I am a parent that thinks this is a horrible school. I have many reasons for my opinion. That's not to say that the teacheres are not doing there job. However they do provide a safe environment and is reasonable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2008

I graduated from this school and thought it was great. There is a unity with everyone and the education is top notch.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 23, 2007

I Graduated From St.Gerard School and I will say that this school is just amazing. I don't know why some of these parents are saying that this school is horrible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 13, 2006

My son is currently atttending this school and it is alright. There is nothing spectacular about it and nothing to bad. However talking to the the prinipal Sister Joann is liking talking to the wall. I must say her ability to correspond with parents is HORRIBLE. The office administrator is no better. I called the school several times for information and several times she didn't give my an answer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

My son is in Kinder. I am more than pleased with the attention and unity in this school. the children are tought not just religion, but most important how to become productive and caring beings. I am so glad to have found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2005

This school is a really good school. Sr. Joann is a great principle and and the teachers hear are wonderful. It a good enviorment for kids. The academic programs are fair but they can use a little more excitement for the kids. Especially in Eighth grade. My daughter is having a fabulous year in eigth grade and they make your last year very special by giving you class rings and preparing you for graduation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2005

My daughter recently went to St.Gerards. I must comment that it is a horrible school. Before sending my daughter to that school she was getting outstanding grades in school. When I sent her there she started failing most of her subjects and I couldn't understand why. I tried talking to the school's principal several times, but she simply would not give me the time of day light. I took my daughter out of St.Gerards and now she is doing much better. I for one believe it was the teaching skills that were horrible. Not to mention that that school does not teach our kids anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 85% 22%
Black 9% 16%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
White 0% 51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Paterson
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10 Carrelton Drive
Paterson, NJ 07522
Phone: (973) 595-5640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Mary School
Paterson, NJ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT