Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Paterson Charter School for Science & Technology

Charter | K-12 | 1144 students

 
 

 

Living in Paterson

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $169,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,370.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 18, 2013

Lets just start with the fact that I dread waking up in the morning! I have to literally drag myself out of bed. The teachers are good teachers but then there are teachers who just purposely pick on you! I have to say that I've been challenged but then again they have to start realizing that they are teaching children not soldiers. I feel as if I'm attending a boot camp but instead of it being physically draining I'm mentally drained. Teachers teach (sometimes rely on short boring clips to do so) their lessons in boring ways and expect us not to fall asleep, talk, fidget around, go to bathrooms (yes! I've gone to the bathroom just to get away from these people) and doodle on their arms. And then there's the students...bad influences if you ask me. It's pretty sad how intelligent kids are so rude, mean, and disrespectful. The students are very smart but the teachers can't get through to them on a personal level because they don't understand them. It grinds my gears when I overhear people say good things about this school. Go check our REAL state test grades, why don't you? Don't believe everything you hear from people who's children haven't attended!


Posted December 16, 2013

My child used to attend this school because they have a great appearance in terms of their teachers showing care, their school coordinator (principal) always greeting everyone. They have community and local school events. HOWEVER, they perform really low on all state wide testing. My child did so poorly I couldn't believe it. Also it makes me uncomfortable how all the top leaders are Turkish. It's odd that Turkish is thought and always comes up behind closed doors. There's definitely a cultural agenda here. I DO NOT recommend this school for academic reasons along with an odd-feeling as a parent for their customs. Grade: F
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2013

My son started 3rd grade at PCSST and is best decision I've ever made for my son's education when decided to transfer her to PCSST. He has improved academically in so many ways. The teachers keeps him motivate him and help him be better in all subjects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2013

This is the fourth year for my daughter at PCSST Elementary school. She has shown great improvement in each grade level and got all A,s on her recent report card. I like the fact i can track her progress daily and contact teachers if necessary and they are quick to respond.I really like the focus on getting the kids motivated so they can be successful. We as parents must ensure our kids take their work seriously. My daughter loves going to school and loves her teachers. Initially I did not want her to take Turkish and was going to fight to get her class changed but after speaking to the teacher decided to let her try it out. Since then she has entered competitions and did very well and sometimes when we go to the supermarket I hear her identify stuff in Turkish. So proud of her. It is a good school and I would definitely recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2013

Great leadership skills. Awesome job on motivating student to work hard and achieve high levels of knowledge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2013

is excellent they are doing great improving every year, they have help my kids in many ways
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2013

Great school and great communication. I feel very glad for all services provided by school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

PCSST is a good school. My daughters have been enrolled for 3 years now since they were in first and second grade. All of the teachers they have had thus far are competent, driven towards excellence for the students in their class and very accommodating by responding to inquiries via email and or phone calls. My girls are challenged by the curriculum in place as it makes them think outside the box. Additionally I applaud the discipline measures for this school. I must admit this Core Curriculum is very challenging and I am grateful that the school recognized this and decided to institute tutoring sessions on Saturdays in an effort to ensure our children succeed. I would definitely recommend this school to my friends and any parent who is TRULY interested in growing, developing and strengthening a future academician.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

I consider PCSST the best school in the Paterson district. The elementary curriculum is challenging allowing students to strive for excellence in their education. The teachers not only care for their students but also cause them to strive for excellence. I always know where my daughter stands bc I daily check the website for homework assignments and grades. Teachers are quick to reach out if my daughter is having difficulty in an area. The school communicates with parents often via phone or text messages and offers great resources to help parents help their students. My daughter is often engaged through the different activities (movie night, lock-in, Spring break trips). The one item I wish the elementary school had was a sports program but other than this, the school is truly a gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

I love PCSST. I appreciate how the whole school is focus on the children's needs. They keep the children focus and interested in learning. It's not the same old same old curriculum. The teachers keep you inform about your child and are reachable if you need them. I give them an A++....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

I have had my child in this school for three years. I searched many schools both public and private to find the best for my son. I am very happy with my child's knowledge, development and discipline. The teacher's are very dedicated to their students achievements. The school's utensils and technology are state of the art. I am very happy with this system of education. I am more than pleased and would recommend this school 100%.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

I saw a previous review criticizing a Turkish teacher and I found it very offensive because my son's teacher is Turkish in this school and she is the sweetest, most dedicated and patient teacher. I have had the pleasure to have her as my son's third grade homeroom and this year for Math and Social Studies. This school and all teachers that I have had the pleasure of interacting during these years have been great. I would never settle for less than the best and I love this school for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

PCSST is one of the worst schools in the district of Paterson. The administration and staff are completely inadequate. I would rather send my kids to School 6 or 10 before reregistering them back to PCSST. They love to put on a show to pretend learning is happening behind the walls. I dont understand half of the teachers who come fro Turkey, so i do get how my kids can understand whhat they are trying to teach them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2012

Okaay I have To Say I Go To This School And Im In The Seventh Grade Now . Ive Been In This School For 3 years Already And Well Its Okay .. Ive learned alot from this school and Well At First My favorite Subject Was Social Studies And I Hated Math Like 100% But Now Since I Have new Teachers And Better Education I Love Math And Dont Really like Social Studies Well Yeah Bye :)


Posted July 5, 2012

For me school is safer than having the City of Paterson, and I never saw in another school where the principal and several teachers are receiving children in the street when we leave in the morning. It is a school where teachers and in general all officers and other personnel are seinte commitment to it. Discipline is essential for school programs is not the typical after school from other public schools. Most parents are involved, and encourage the children in a way that every day want to be better, I wish I had more schools like this in the city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2012

This is best School In Paterson. My Kids are totally change, Now he is more responsible kids, And School is very safe .Not likes other... We should support those kind school for our kids. They are our future. Everybody know how is public school ? For me look like Childcare, they don't teach nothing and gangs control the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2011

I have to say that my child and I are very disappointed in PCSST.My child has not been challenged at all at this school. I was amazed by the lack of reading the children were doing. The students seemed to control the school. Applying for the school was more rigorous than their curriculum. I felt this was a waste of a 6th grade year!!!!! Back to public school we go!!!!! Any parent interested in this school should see it for ur self word of mouth can be very misleading
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

I go to this school and I am in the 7th grade. And im in the honors class I addmit, they do need to challange us more but what can you do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 11, 2008

PCSST provides an evironment desgned for everyone to grow up and be independent. This school helped me grow out of my shell. I thank PCSST for that. They also make me feel welcome, like I can talk to anyone. This school is great for shy children who need to become outgoing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2008

my daughter has attened this school since 6th grade she is currently in the 8th grade, I have nothing but good things to say about the school, my daughter enjoys going, the school work is challenging and keeps her interested.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students55%
Female67%
Male44%
Black49%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Special educationn/a
General education59%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant55%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students84%
Female89%
Male79%
Black76%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special educationn/a
General education86%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant84%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students31%
Female34%
Male29%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Special educationn/a
General education38%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant31%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students63%
Female63%
Male62%
Black54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special educationn/a
General education68%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant63%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students85%
Female89%
Male82%
Black74%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
General education89%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant85%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students41%
Female41%
Male42%
Black29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Special educationn/a
General education43%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant41%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students80%
Female79%
Male83%
Black74%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special educationn/a
General education82%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant80%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students52%
Female54%
Male51%
Black47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged41%
Special educationn/a
General education55%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant52%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students76%
Female74%
Male78%
Black68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special educationn/a
General education78%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant76%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students32%
Female30%
Male34%
Black26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Special educationn/a
General education35%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant32%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students35%
Female41%
Male30%
Black29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Special educationn/a
General education37%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant35%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students63%
Female67%
Male58%
Black58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Special educationn/a
General education66%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant63%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students43%
Female35%
Male53%
Black38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Special educationn/a
General education46%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant43%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students48%
Female41%
Male55%
Black43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Special educationn/a
General education49%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant48%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students82%
Female86%
Male77%
Black79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education46%
General education90%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant82%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students55%
Female61%
Male45%
Black49%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education67%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant55%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
34%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students32%
Female29%
Male36%
Black32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education32%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant32%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

89%

SAT college ready

7%

Graduation rate

75%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 47% 16%
Hispanic 47% 22%
White 6% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
  • Turkish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
  • Turkish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Special olympics

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 4:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Riza Gurcanli
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (973) 247-9924

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
  • Turkish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
  • Turkish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • JROTC
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Special olympics
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


1 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
160
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
1100

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

276 Wabash Ave.
Paterson, NJ 07503
Website: Click here
Phone: (973) 247-0600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT