Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Paterson Charter School for Science & Technology
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
I believe the principal is responsible for the school's culture and he should deservedly get the credit for all the things that are working right in the school.

Paterson Charter School for Science & Technology
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
The teachers I've dealt with are very effective. They communicate quickly when a student might be lagging behind or are not displaying strong study habits. The teachers will reach out to ensure the parent is aware.


Paterson Charter School for Science & Technology
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Given how busy some students are after school due to other activities, the amount of homework feels right.

Paterson Charter School for Science & Technology
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
I believe so. The curriculum alone is advanced enough to bring these skills out of students who really engage in their education.

Paterson Charter School for Science & Technology
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Yes, they often teach seminars both to students as well as parents who attend their meetings.


Paterson Charter School for Science & Technology
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
I believe the school does what it can to teach these values but unless the values are re-enforced at home, there's only so much the school can be responsible for.

Paterson Charter School for Science & Technology
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Yes, I believe this school has processes in place to develop these values in students. I have never had an issue with my daughter, where these values were not present.

Paterson Charter School for Science & Technology 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
The curriculum in this school feels much more advanced than the rest of the Paterson district. My daughter has been attending since the 3rd grade and I have been impressed with the processes in place for my daughter's learning. They offer great activities as well and communicate frequently with parents. I am very pleased with this school.


Paterson Charter School for Science & Technology
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
From my observances the teachers I have dealt with invest in their students. Building relationships with the children . This helps to build a sense of pride and the feeling of a safe place.

Paterson Charter School for Science & Technology 5

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
My daughter began her PCSST experience in 3rd grade. She has excelled academically and socially learning about other cultures in addition to her school studies. She has attended scientific hikes along with her Science instructor, a small group of students and Biology professor WPU. She participated in the College Coaching Plus Program two years, competed with the Science Olympiad team, and last school year she was nominated by her Language Arts teacher to attend a six day Young Leaders of America conference in which she attended this past summer in Washington, DC. We were going to move out of the state and I was trying to find another school similar in structure but I felt the one I had found did not meet the same PCSST standards. Because of this we have chosen to stay until she finishes these formative years. I will see what the Middle school has to offer. So many of the children today lack focus and need structure just to be a productive part of society. Education needs to be taken seriously. We as a country, state, city, school system on down are so far behind because we can't or don't want to follow the basics.Good Job!! PCSST!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Paterson Charter School for Science & Technology
276 Wabash Ave., Paterson, NJ  07503
(973) 247-0600
Last modified Paterson Charter School for Science & Technology is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Paterson Charter School for Science & Technology Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top