Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Paulsboro High School

Public | 7-12 & ungraded | 34 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 16, 2014

i went to paulsboro high and it was the worst time of my life i did not lern any thing i got bullied and when i told the principal he did nothing about it and one day i got tired of it and got in to a fight with that bully i got in trouble and got dispended for standing up for myself whiel the bully did not even get in trouble worst school ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. i would never never let my kids attend that school.


Posted February 18, 2014

I am a graduate of Paulsboro and after reading some of the reviews below, I have to completely disagree with most of them. All of my children have graduated recently from Paulsboro and have had a great experience. They are also doing very well in college. There is something for everyone and to say the school spends all of their money on sports is ridiculous. The teachers do care, and the students are very accepting. My kids followed the rules and wore their uniforms as required and so we have had no issues in this respect. I work very closely with different organizations at PHS and find that there is plenty of cooperation between staff, administration and students. BTW- three of my kids are girls and had a great time not only participating in sports, but also in the theater and music groups, not to mention all the clubs they belonged to. School is what you make of it. My kids are well rounded, succeeding in college, and miss PHS very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

I am a 1996 graduate of PHS. Now that my Daughter attends there, grade 9, Inotice a BIG difference in the way the school is run. Yes when I was there there was a lot of hype about sports, BUT the administration ALSO cared about the students. Now its just sports! Never in my life have i seen a TINY school district, as Paulsbor, have some many money issues! Theres way too many created positions in this school...ie thers about 8 secretaries....why? There has been plenty of time i had to give important message to my daughter, trying to keep her off her phone, guess what she never got them!!! this school of this size dont need 8! Some teacher should have been gone a long time ago but are make so much money from theese created positions, some hold mutiple created positions with multiple checks. yet theres not enough books for student, the air work in the winter and the heat works in the spring and fall... Along with sports too much emphasis is placed on uniforms at the start of each class....then theres 15-20 mins of the class is left to teach what?? im ashamed to say my child goes there....


Posted August 21, 2011

I am a student at Paulsboro High School and it is NOT a good school. Their focus on sports makes an artsy person like me feel unaccepted. People who are naturally gifted with sports get an easy ride through everything, while students who are not interested in sports are expected to hold the school together. The teachers are just as immature as the students and will choose favorites with their students and make it very obvious. The staff of this school is run by all of the families who run the rest of the town. Students are not accepting of new students such as myself. Usually the students who go their went there, their entire lives as well as their parents. I have been their two years and still do not feel accepted nor do I feel as if I have learned anything. This school is for children who do not care about their education or their future,


Posted September 10, 2010

This school is for people who do not care. I grew up in Paulsboro from kindergarten to graduation. Half of the teachers do not care and the students care even less. For any child who is bright and intelligent, this school is not for you. It will not challenge you or give you a strive to do your best. You may think this is a "fun" school because you can get away with a lot. Enjoy the easy ride, but in the end, when the short bus stops, you will realize how much you did not learn. This is not a school to attend if you plan to be successful in your life.


Posted June 1, 2010

I along with the many students above agree that this district puts their money in the wrong place. If you want and education you go to school. If you want to be in sports then maybe our school should charge a small fee for these sports, so our children can get a good education. Another thing!! I along with many other parents are very involved with my childs education/life. It amazes me when you have a school wanting "parent involvement" but yet the school doesnt do it's part. My daughter is a third grader at Loudenslager Elementary School and twice this year the school has sent out parent/gaurdian invitations to school concerts the day before the event. Needless to say since my husband and I both work we could not make any of our daughters concerts this year due to someone not doing their job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2008

I think this school is amazing and miss going to school there. sure they may be focused on sports but they focused on the academics as well. I LOVE PAULSBORO and miss everyone there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2008

I am a Junior at PHS and love it. Theres no school like it in SJ. The family atmosphere and acceptance of everyone is something you will see only at PHS. I love going to school and i love learning, the teachers care about the students in the class rooms and outside of school. Anyone who listens to the bad reputation paulsboro high has is missing out on the best high school experiance any teen could get.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 17, 2007

I am 18 and I went to Paulsboro High. They care about the sports more then they do the education. The teachers try and do what they have to but everyone that is above them is who doesn't seem to care. They need to sit back and look at what is more important.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 5, 2006

The Paulsboro school district is behind almost every school in the county as far as academics is concerned, yet there does not seem to any interest in correcting this problem. Below average learning facilities, books and college prep courses. This school district recently instituted a dress code policy / uniforms for all students at all of schools yet out test scores are among the lowest in the county. What do you think is more important in Paulsboro; the way the students dress or providing an above average education for the kids in the school district. Paulsboro always comes up with policies that look good on paper but they never address the real issue at hand, why is the level of education there so poor when they spend just as much or the same per student as the surrounding schools. Needless to my child is going somewhere else!!!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 6, 2006

I personally think Paulsboro High School is extremly behind acdemeically.Half the stuff my daughter was being taught she already learned in her past years. Paulsboro sports is very good but thats what they put most of their money on. The school needs new books and everything else before sports equipment.Parents are involoved but not half as much as they should be.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students25%
Female33%
Male18%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White50%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Special educationn/a
General education30%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant25%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students31%
Female38%
Male24%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic17%
White39%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Special educationn/a
General education36%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant31%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students62%
Female60%
Male63%
Black55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Special education16%
General education76%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant62%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students51%
Female45%
Male58%
Black43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Pacific Islandern/a
White52%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Special education11%
General education64%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant51%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students49%
Female48%
Male50%
Black45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Special education11%
General education61%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant49%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students82%
Female91%
Male77%
Black84%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education50%
General education90%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant82%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students62%
Female65%
Male63%
Black67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Special education24%
General education72%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant62%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students23%
Female30%
Male19%
Black13%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White31%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Special educationn/a
General education25%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant23%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

53%

SAT college ready

10%

Graduation rate

77%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 51% 16%
White 39% 51%
Hispanic 7% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Paul Morina

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

670 N Delaware St
Paulsboro, NJ 08066
Phone: (856) 423-2222

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Guardian Angels
Gibbstown, NJ


West Deptford Middle School
West Deptford, NJ




St Margaret Regional School
Woodbury Heights, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT