Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Helen A Fort Middle School

Public | 6-9 & ungraded | 38 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2014

In honors, and was expecting a stereotypical bad Pemberton school, as people sAid it was bad. But my experience was a good time. It all depends on the crowd you hang out with.


Posted April 11, 2014

Great school and enjoyed 6-8th a bunch.Most Staff was nice and like the other revues said it only depends around the crowd you hang out with


Posted March 18, 2014

This school administers are the worst show favoritism and treat these children like prisoners look for any chance to suspend a child have not set guidelines and are only in it for the paycheck send your kids somewhere else
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

Also, in regards to the person who says military kids are ridiculed, I believe the opposite. They actually get special treatment. This school gives free supplies due to the fact that THERE ARE many military kids attending this school! Also, they have events that ONLY military kids can attend. Everybody LOVES new students at this school and 90% percent of new students are military kids. The commenter also said that burlington schools are better than Pemberton. I STRONGLY disagree. Every person I know who has transferred to burlington come back within 1 month. They say they learned nothing and the only good thing about the school was it looked pretty and had good food.


Posted May 2, 2012

My son has attended 7th and 8th grade in this school. It has tried hard to improve its academic scores, and to a great extent it has. HOWEVER, it has failed to improve the student culture. Non-military students are often ostracized and targeted. The teachers and administration have failed to fully incorporate the military as members of the community. Military students are often treated disrespectfully and as outsiders by the local student population. Additionall, there is a lack of communication from the majority of the teachers, and the principal and counselor have yet to reply to any email or phone message I have sent. My son is in Honors classes and has never been a problem student. Over the 2 years, I have sent approximately a dozen email total to his teachers, but only 1 of his 7th grade teachers and 1 of his 8th grade teachers have ever bothers to respond. The school does a horrible job of providing information to parents. The e-chalk and parent genesis web pages are not updated by teachers, so it is impossible for parents to know what assignments are due and/or missing. Parents should strongly consider Burlington schools as alternative to Pemberton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2010

I am an Eight Grade Student and this school is a VERY safe and the principal is a good strong leader that provides many extacurricular activities. Unfortunatly parent involvement needs improvement. I cant say anything about the teachers because some are good and some are bad it all depends on who you ask.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2009

I am in 8th grade honors at HFMS. This school gives good education, safety, and activities. What matters is how you take it and use the information they give you. Many students in Pemberton are bad and refuse to do work. As long as you don't fall into the wrong crownd, you'll be fine. I can tell you many success stories of people that went to Pemberton schools all 12 grades. If you're looking for a school, look into this one. Thank You. :D
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

This school dedicates itself to helping challenged children achieve with alot less stress by accomodating them in smaller classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The students are awesome! We made Safe Harbor and things are beginning to improve!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2009

( In addition my previous review ) There are so many extracurricular activities at Helen A. In my school, there's band, chorus, and four sports. In Helen A., there was that and more. Yes, Helen A. WAS bad, back when it was a high school and a few years ago, but it has improved. Most of these comments ARE from a few years ago, and others are based on from when it was a high school. Helen A. is truly a great school, and you shouldn't worry about sending your child there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2008

My daughter has gone to 7th grade at hfms. She was an honor student until she hit 7th grade. She used to love school. HFMS changed my daughter and not for the better. Viloence & out of control kids are what rule this school. We are in the mist of getting a civil lawyer to get our school tax credit money back and enroll her in New Egpyt school district. If you have an option, DON'T send your child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

I'm in the 8th grade in the Fort as well and I think that the school could use some reconstruction on discipline. Whatever a teacher does to a misbehaving student, it doesn't seem to help at all. They just keep on doing it and it's really annoying. I'm glad that its my last year here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2008

i attend the fort and im in 8th grade honors. i wouldnt tell you to put your child in this school. their food is nasty and the education is poor. when i walk into the school i dont feel really safe, but good enough since im not new. but if your child is new, you'll have some problems. race is deffinately an issue in our school. our security guards are as old as dirt. but they somehow keep sanity within the school. as for the over all look of pemeberton, it is rough and doesnt give the brightest educaation your child can get. - a student
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2008

There are only a very few teachers that are truly dedicated to helping the students. My sons guidence councolar is phenominal in helping get my son the help he needs with his learning disability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2006

Diverse, vibrant, and exciting!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 12, 2006

This school lacks consistent discipline. The administrator is egotistical and more talk than action. Many of the children at HFMS do not get to fully enjoy themselves for the tension that runs high. There are numberous fights, especially in the lunch room. Teachers have an extremely difficult time teaching because they are too busy trying to discipline, which should be the principal's responsiblity. A large number of students are disrepectful to the teaching staff and not held accountable. I recommend private school if you can afford it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2006

The school is disorganized with classrooms and homerooms changing throughout the first month of school. The moral in the school is very low. Not all schools in Pemberton are like this. I've had some very good experiences with 6 other Pemberton schools. They used positive reinforcement to get the desired behavior. Something I haven't seen at HFMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2005

poor structure, failure to meet special ed student needs, few teachers with any dedication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

Poor administration - Principal is ego-driven. Focus is on the few to the detriment of most. I can't wait for my daughter to be out of there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

I am very disappointed in this school. It is a very 'tough' school. As a midwestern family transplanted here it was a culture shock to see so many security guards patrolling the school. Academically, this school is just ok. There is not a variety of electives and I feel my son learned little, if anything in his core classes. They focus on assigning homework every night from every teacher. This results in a huge amount of needless 'busy' work. Many times my son had upwards of 4 hours of homework. There are also no rules against bullying in this school apparently and it is basically a race war. Good luck if your kid has to go here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

366 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

366 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students56%
Female60%
Male52%
Black51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Special educationn/a
General education64%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant56%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students77%
Female78%
Male76%
Black73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Special educationn/a
General education85%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant77%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students48%
Female57%
Male39%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White50%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Special educationn/a
General education54%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant48%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students45%
Female46%
Male44%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
White50%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged52%
Special educationn/a
General education52%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant45%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students77%
Female83%
Male71%
Black73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
General education85%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant77%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students49%
Female47%
Male51%
Black32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic49%
Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged56%
Special educationn/a
General education56%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant49%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students68%
Female64%
Male72%
Black61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Special educationn/a
General education76%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant68%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 51%
Black 31% 16%
Hispanic 13% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms Mary Hutchinson

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Soccer
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 Fort Dix Road
Pemberton, NJ 08068
Phone: (609) 893-8141

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






King's Academy
Wrightstown, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT