Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-9 & Ungraded
Public
Pemberton, NJ
Students enrolled: 1,047
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Helen A Fort Middle School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a community member
In honors, and was expecting a stereotypical bad Pemberton school, as people sAid it was bad. But my experience was a good time. It all depends on the crowd you hang out with.

Helen A Fort Middle School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a community member
Great school and enjoyed 6-8th a bunch.Most Staff was nice and like the other revues said it only depends around the crowd you hang out with


Helen A Fort Middle School 1

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
This school administers are the worst show favoritism and treat these children like prisoners look for any chance to suspend a child have not set guidelines and are only in it for the paycheck send your kids somewhere else

Helen A Fort Middle School 4

Posted September 14, 2013
- a community member
Also, in regards to the person who says military kids are ridiculed, I believe the opposite. They actually get special treatment. This school gives free supplies due to the fact that THERE ARE many military kids attending this school! Also, they have events that ONLY military kids can attend. Everybody LOVES new students at this school and 90% percent of new students are military kids. The commenter also said that burlington schools are better than Pemberton. I STRONGLY disagree. Every person I know who has transferred to burlington come back within 1 month. They say they learned nothing and the only good thing about the school was it looked pretty and had good food.

Helen A Fort Middle School 2

Posted May 02, 2012
- a parent
My son has attended 7th and 8th grade in this school. It has tried hard to improve its academic scores, and to a great extent it has. HOWEVER, it has failed to improve the student culture. Non-military students are often ostracized and targeted. The teachers and administration have failed to fully incorporate the military as members of the community. Military students are often treated disrespectfully and as outsiders by the local student population. Additionall, there is a lack of communication from the majority of the teachers, and the principal and counselor have yet to reply to any email or phone message I have sent. My son is in Honors classes and has never been a problem student. Over the 2 years, I have sent approximately a dozen email total to his teachers, but only 1 of his 7th grade teachers and 1 of his 8th grade teachers have ever bothers to respond. The school does a horrible job of providing information to parents. The e-chalk and parent genesis web pages are not updated by teachers, so it is impossible for parents to know what assignments are due and/or missing. Parents should strongly consider Burlington schools as alternative to Pemberton.


Helen A Fort Middle School 4

Posted February 15, 2010
- a student
I am an Eight Grade Student and this school is a VERY safe and the principal is a good strong leader that provides many extacurricular activities. Unfortunatly parent involvement needs improvement. I cant say anything about the teachers because some are good and some are bad it all depends on who you ask.

Helen A Fort Middle School 1

Posted December 19, 2009
- a student
I am in 8th grade honors at HFMS. This school gives good education, safety, and activities. What matters is how you take it and use the information they give you. Many students in Pemberton are bad and refuse to do work. As long as you don't fall into the wrong crownd, you'll be fine. I can tell you many success stories of people that went to Pemberton schools all 12 grades. If you're looking for a school, look into this one. Thank You. :D

Helen A Fort Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
This school dedicates itself to helping challenged children achieve with alot less stress by accomodating them in smaller classes.


Helen A Fort Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The students are awesome! We made Safe Harbor and things are beginning to improve!!

Helen A Fort Middle School 5

Posted August 07, 2009
- a student
( In addition my previous review ) There are so many extracurricular activities at Helen A. In my school, there's band, chorus, and four sports. In Helen A., there was that and more. Yes, Helen A. WAS bad, back when it was a high school and a few years ago, but it has improved. Most of these comments ARE from a few years ago, and others are based on from when it was a high school. Helen A. is truly a great school, and you shouldn't worry about sending your child there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Helen A Fort Middle School
101 Fort Dix Road, Pemberton, NJ  08068
(609) 893-8141
Last modified Helen A Fort Middle School is a Public school
Helen A Fort Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top