Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Stephen School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pennsauken...

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $156,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 1, 2013

READ ALL OF THIS IT IS IMPORTANT! I am an 8th grade student currently attending Phifer Middle School in Pennsauken. I attended this school for a year and a half. 6th-7th grade. First the principal is horrible. The rest of the staff is just as bad. I had done nothing to this one teacher, and she hated me in the wort way she gave me a detention on my the day before my birthday so I would have to wake up at 3 in the morning on my birthday. I didn't do anything to deserve that. She contacted my parents and told them that they should have my checked and that I need medication. I went to a doctor who told me theres nothing wrong with me. She then openly in class said loud for everyone to hear "Did you get medication yet, because theres something wrong with you" She would also treat other students like this but she treated me the worst. The Science and Math teacher for the older kids older students has no idea what she's doing. The entire staff is uneducated and behaves terribly. And just to inform all of you. The principals grandson is treated like royalty If anyone knows the principal at this school tell her to read this. Its from Michael M. I hope this will stop this horrible school.


Posted August 11, 2012

This school has changed tremendously under the new administration...very disappointing ...the change is not for the better.


Posted April 18, 2011

This is the BEST school ever. The children are down-to-earth, along with the teachers. I love this school. It's a MUST-GO.


Posted July 14, 2010

In St Stephen school, at the Kindergarten with Mrs Hill my son got the greatest and the best care he could have. And at the first grade with Mrs Smith, my son got all the patience he could have to be a better student. Of course, as the parent, I was always there and had to work with school staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

I love this school. All the teachers help me when I'm in need. My friends at this school also treat me and my other class mates very well. The teachers do a great job every day
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2008

The principal and some of the teachers have got to get a grip. I don't think the kids are getting out of the school what they should. School should be a great learning experience, not having to teach the educators.


Posted August 22, 2008

My son went to preschool there and all I can say is that his teacher was fabulous, very caring and easy to talk to, a top rate teacher
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

I feel that this school has gone a totally different way than in the past. Everything that you were one used to with Sr. Kathy, has gone south. I've noticed the changes, especially this year. I pay money to send my child to St. Stephen's, but I really don't think they are getting everything that I want for them. It's sad to say, but maybe public school was the way to go. :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

St. Stephens School is the best! I couldn't have picked a better school to send my children to. The teachers are warm and caring. They are all very concerned about each individual child and their needs. The faculty there is terrific. I know my children are getting a great Catholic education. When another parish school in the area had turned their back on my son, St. Stephens welcome him with open arms. My children are happy to go to school everyday because of St. Stephens. I and my children couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2006

This school is wonderful! Our child transferred here after attending K-4 elsewhere and the differences were immediate. The school offers many choices for electives (such as music, drama, band, horticulture, or optional gym classes like Aerobics) which is fantastic. It makes the day much more interesting when children are involved with courses other than just the basics of math, english and science. The school offers advanced placement in math and prepares well for high school science and english. There are sports and extracurricular activities available for all levels of interest. Parent involvement is excellent, which is key to a positive learning environment. It's definitely a plus to have your child be excited about going to school each day. The teachers, principal, and staff genuinely care about your children and it really shows. Lastly, the ethnic diversity of the students is a major plus over other area private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2004

St. Stephens is an excellent school. The school offers a well rounded balance of strong educational and arts program. My 6th grader is learning french. The school offers quite a variety of elective classes for the upper classes. The enviroment in the school is safe and comforting. The children experience educators that want to teach and will go over and above to help your child feel like a success. This is and has been a great school. I graduated many moons ago from St. Stephens and my children are having the same positive experience. The school is prepared for many emergency situations that unfortunately could happen. Our parents give 100% to support the school and parish. St. Stephens is like your extended family and a great place to call home.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 51%
Black 22% 16%
Hispanic 20% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Camden
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6300 Browning Road
Pennsauken Township, NJ 08109
Phone: (856) 662-5935

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Martin Luther Christian School
Pennsauken Township, NJ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT