Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Perth Amboy, NJ
Students enrolled: 2,307

3 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Perth Amboy High School 4

Posted April 12, 2012
- a student
Perth Amboy HS is not an "ideal" hs at all, but it has produced many successful students. I graduated 2 yrs ago and am attending one of the top colleges in NJ. The community in which the high school is in is an urban community, thus there are a lack of conventional resources (money, books, class size) available at the school. There are always questionable teachers, but the ones I have encountered have made significant use of the resources available to them. It's not an easy job, but success has been a product. The kids live in a poverty stricken neighborhood in which crime rates are higher in comparison with other communities. As teenagers, this influence can be overwhelming but with PARENTAL INVOLVEMENT & SUPPORT, this can be overcome. The failing test scores are the result of the lack of resources available (i.e. tutoring time) and the issue with standardized testing. The majority of PA is Hispanic with many being English language learners. These standardized tests are not altered for diff. cultures and languages! All in all, the students of PA face challenges but success is possible with effective use of resources and instruction, parental involvement, & dedication.

Perth Amboy High School 0
no rating

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
I am a former student who graduated from PA. There are pros and cons to this school. Some teachers & their methods are indeed questionable. But I'll elaborate more on the good teachers I came across. Mr. Savoia, History ,Mr. Fraraccio, History teacher, Ms. Stepash, Art teacher, Mrs. Massopust, Art teacher (sometimey, but good) Mrs. Barrios excellent spanish teacher with great discipline. (She teaches you beyond the classroom walls) Mrs. Terell History teacher & there are so many more who at this time I can't remember their names...it's been a while since I've been there, the principle was my VP in Junior high. She's strong, firm but not cold, kind in fact. I'd say there are many things wrong with some of the staff but there are some amazing teachers involved hands on in the school--but I remember caring more about my friends' business back then. I think most teenagers are.


Perth Amboy High School 1

Posted November 11, 2009
- a community member
The teachers dont challenge the students enough

Perth Amboy High School 1

Posted April 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Perth Amboy High School 1

Posted February 17, 2009
- a parent
This school is in a horrific state of disrepair, it is dirty, it is overcrowded and the teachers have little or no drive, which transfers onto the children. The only children who have a chance is the Honors students who have been removed from the main school and are being taught at the former Perth Amboy Catholic School facility on Catherine Street. It is a shame, a disgrace and disheartening for these children to be short changed in this manner, they may be graduating 450+ students a year but the amount of remediation they require prior to taking college classes is indicative of the short comings of their education. Unfortunately the problem begins at the top, the school staff is rude, they are uncaring, they do not respond to e-mails and try to resolve anything, even a simple schedule problem by phone, it is impossible. The whole system is broken.


Perth Amboy High School 4

Posted February 16, 2009
- a parent
If the students want to learn, they have limitless possibilities; the school has AP and Honors classes which guide the students in the right path. The failing HSPA scores are due to the amount of Special Education and ESL students, who cannot speak English, yet they are forced to take the test.

Perth Amboy High School 4

Posted February 16, 2009
- a student
If the students want to learn they have endless possibilities; the school offers AP and Honors classes, which can help and guide the students to the right path. Although the school may seem like it's failing the HSPA, it is due to the Special Education and ESL students, who although are incapable of passing the test, they are forced to take it.

Perth Amboy High School 4

Posted February 15, 2007
- a student
Yes, this High School seems terrible but it is not. Even though there are a lot of gangs and fights that really doesn't matter. Every school has problems. It is up to the children themselves to figure out what they want to do. This high school is great with sports and also great academically. For example 465 seniors are graduating this year and that is great.


Perth Amboy High School 1

Posted December 31, 2006
- a staff
This review submitted without content.

Perth Amboy High School 3

Posted October 03, 2006
- a parent
The programs and activities are ok but I think they could be better. Also there isn't enough parent involvement. It seems like the only involvement from the parents is when the child is in trouble or sick. Most of the staff are very rude and have no professionalism at all.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Perth Amboy High School
Eagle Ave & Francis St, Perth Amboy, NJ  08861
(732) 376-6030
Last modified Perth Amboy High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Perth Amboy High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top