Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Assumption Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 167 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Perth Amboy

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,340.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2012

worst school i have ever been to. terrible staff. i left that school before the last day of school.


Posted January 27, 2011

My daughter has attended Assumption Catholic since she was in Kindergarten. She is now in Fourth Grade. I am extremely satisfied with the quality of education she has received here and will continue to receive. I love this school so much, that my son now attends Assumption Catholic. He is in Kindergarten and his teacher is the best. It is not crowded like the Perth Amboy Catholic schools. It has a warm, homey feel to it and the students thrive in this environment. I am so happy this school goes up to the eighth grade. This is where they will stay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

Allover good schcool.My daughter enjoys attending her kindergarten classes.Classes are small so that helps develop the child learning ability.They offer pre care & after for a small fee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

Our daughter attends this wonderful school and has thrived there! The atmosphere of community and caring is one of its very best characteristics! She has excelled there and we could not be happier! The principal, teachers and staff are there for the students and for the parents. Overall, the students are polite, kind and friendly. The teachers strive for academic excellence for all students. the rules are strict, but not harsh. The religious education is part of the program, but it is not overbearing. This school is definitely the best kept secret in the Perth Amboy area. Excellence, individual attention, small class sizes.. all at a very fair and reasonable price! Thank you Assumption Catholic for a job well done!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

I transferred my daughter to this school when thanks to this wonderful 'no child left behind' law the public school was going to pass her despite the fact she failed Reading and Language Arts all 4 marking periods; when she was in second grade. I spoke to the principle and teacher and decided it was in her best interest to have her repeat the 2nd grade. She is now entering the 6th grade and I haven't looked back. My son now attends the school and I look forward to my 2 year old starting as well. The small classes allow the teachers to take their time and give attention to those that need it. There is also a new principle and he is fantastic!!!!!! Not that the old one wasn't, it's just that you're always nervous with new leadership. The teachers really care and are always willing to work with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2007

I have had my son in UACS since Kindergarten. This is a great school. As a public school teacher, I see everyday how most students in public schools are not high achievers due to low parent involvement even though we give many opportunites to work with the school. I think this is what I love about this school. We give our children high standards and the teachers and parents work TOGETHER to achieve that goal. My son's entire Kindergarten class was reading by the time they finished K. Many of the students are honor students. There are many after school activities available for the students and parents are involved in all of the school functions. I plan on enrolling my other son for PRE-K next year. I love the small school size, the one on one attention each student receives and the daily feedback from teachers. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

I love the small classroom sizes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2004

I would have to agree with the person who said that they 'wondered if a Public School' would have been better. I am very disappointed with the way the school is run. Some of the teachers are very good but there are others that are not so great. There really is no control over the students. This is supposed to be a Catholic school where the socialization is kept to a minimum. I also agree that there should be designated activites for recess. Kids should not be allowed to just socialize. I dont ever remember being able to socialize with my friends expect before/after school and during lunch. Kids today need more discipline while in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2004

My son has been at UAS since Kindergarten. He is now going into 5th grade and he loves 'his UAS'. He tells me all the time that he wants to go there until he graduates from 8th grade. He loves his teachers and receives good grades. He went into Kindergarten not knowing how to read and came out reading above his level. The teachers must be doing something right! As long as parents stay involved in their child's education - teachers will always work with them. If your willing to pay for your child's education, you must be willing to participate too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My 2 daughters attended UAS from K thru 1 and now 2nd. When I tell you what a fantastic job they did for me keep my oldest calm and feeling safe during 9-11 and other tragedies. Also I have been recently divoced and they also kept the girls safe and always got involved with them, the teachers contacted me when they had a really bad day or a really good day. I can not thank the staff enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 57% 22%
White 30% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 9%
Black 4% 16%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Other
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Meredith And Jacques Sts
Perth Amboy, NJ 08861
Phone: (732) 826-8721

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Anthony V Ceres School
Perth Amboy, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT