Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Knollwood Elementary School

Public | K-3 & ungraded | 499 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 7, 2013

Our family moved to this area in 2009 and our child loved this school. The principal Mrs. Davis is as involved and dedicated as you'll ever see in a leader. Her love for the students is only surpassed by teachers like Mrs. Solemani and Mr. Jacome. Their love for teaching as well as their students kept our child engaged to the point that he wanted to never miss a day of school. This group of educators epitomizes professionalism. Classroom management, motivation, seeking parent participation are just a few of the things constantly displayed by the staff at Knollwood. PTO is also very organized by an enthused group of parents. The search to find a National Teacher of the Year should always BEGIN on 333 Willow Avenue! Thank you for a great experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2012

Great teachers great principal and great PTO My daughter is in the 1st grade and she loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2012

My daughter has spent 4 years in this school (K-3) and she always loves it. The teachers are excellent. It is true that they have quite bit home work, but it is the path to learn and grasp more. I particularly like their "Law Fair" (theatre program) and music program. The PTO is very active and helpful as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

Need more stress on studies. Really like G&T program and sports. Lacking classes in foreign languages like spanish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2011

Hi Im new to the area my child will be in pk in Sept. I go to work at 4 am anyone know anyone that up that early watching kids?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2010

My child had a hard time here socially. The kids are rough and cliquish, and it is difficult to fit in. The curriculum is challenging (lots of homework and intense reports), yet behind other schools (a friend's child is already doing fractions in 3rd grade in a Catholic School and another is doing long division). Maybe they teach different things at different times? As a new mom, I also tried to fit in unsuccessfully. Maybe because it is so big and we are lost in the shuffle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

I believe good schools are those which have teachers who foster a love for learning among students and produce extraordinary results through deep individual attention. Knollwood can certainly make a claim to this fame. You can verify from nj.com school report web site how it stands out amongst schools in district and compares with the best in region. I will always remember my meeting with my sons second grade teacher (Ms. Ehrman) who it seemed had understood his personality as well as I had in his seven years. She had a plethora of suggestions regarding his weaknesses. My son is going to graduate this year from this school but it has been the best possible learning and fun experience that he could have had. The teachers have a wonderful relationship with students and I am eternally be grateful to them for their contribution to my sons development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

Great school, with excellent teachers under the superb leadership of Principal Ms.McFall. The programs are great and my child loves going to school. She has been learning a lot and her reading writing, maths and other levels are very good. All thanks to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

The teachers at Knollwood are excellent. They inspire the children to love learning. The principle is a strong leader and also makes time for the kids to have opportunities for fun. Knollwood is a thriving learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

My son entered Kindergarten at Knollwood this year (2006-2007). It has been a wonderful experience for all of us. Mrs. McFall is an excellent principal and my son's teacher has made his experience fun and exciting. I love being a part of the Knollwood community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2006

My son began attending Knollwood in the 2nd grade - he is now in the 3rd grade. His 2nd grade experience was great. He had a teacher who was new to the district - but she was attentive and quite willing to work with us. Both the teacher and the principal (Mrs. Mc Fall)worked with my husband and I - together worked on strategies to help my son succeed. Those strategies worked - and he ended the year with straight A's. I attended back to school night just this week. Again, I'm seeing the same enthusiasm from the principal and the staff - and his 3rd grade teacher was quite impressive. She - like the 2nd grade teacher - encourages frequent parent contact (phone or email). It seems to me that the principal is supporting approaches that help students achieve - for us, it's working.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students80%
Female87%
Male72%
Black74%
Asian85%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education36%
General education84%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant80%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Black91%
Asian98%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
General education96%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant93%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 36% 9%
Black 27% 16%
White 23% 51%
Hispanic 10% 22%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

333 Willow Avenue
Box 1332
Piscataway, NJ 08854
Phone: (732) 885-1528

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Yeshiva Shaarei Tzion Girls School
Piscataway Township, NJ


Rutgers Preparatory School
Franklin Township, NJ



Lake Nelson SDA School
Piscataway Township, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT