Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dwight D. Eisenhower Elementary School

Public | K-3 | 540 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 19, 2011

My child has gone to Eisenhower K-3rd grades. I have been extremely happy with his educational experience. And more so he has been over joyed with his relationships with his teachers. Over all it is staffed with very caring educators who are willing to go above and beyond for the children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2009

I give 2 starts to the school as the teaching quality has gone down in last 1 year and teachers and even the secretaries just try to be unnecessarily authoritative not only with kids but sometimes with parents too
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2009

My daughter goes there she loves it. Teachers are good
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

I rate this school 3 out of five stars. principal leadership has really gone down since principal Dr. Pryor left. She was GREAT with the kids. THis current principal Mrs. Wright is not really hands on with the kids or parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2009

I have a son in kindergarten and he went from a very shy child to outgoing! He loves to go to school and loves his teacher to pieces! She is very involved, enthusiatic and genuinely cares for the students and there academics. The Principal and rest of the staff are all wonderful, they know all the childrens names and it's like a family @ Eisenhower. My son has really excelled in reading and is super at mathamatics. We are pleased and feel our son is in a very safe and happy environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

I am very impressed with every aspect of my daughter's experience at Eisenhower. She is in kindergarten and is thrilled to go to school every day. The curriculum is excellent and she is reading, writing and doing math enthusiastically. The principal is very involved and she and the teachers, counselor and nurse know all the students by name. My daughter's teacher makes the subject matters discussed very relevant and my daughter is thrilled when she can relate those matters to her everyday experiences. The aftercare experience has also been excellent for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

I am wlaking distance from the school and the teacher are very friendly and take intest in your kids progress. The have some activivies.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students76%
Female82%
Male70%
Black65%
Asian81%
Hispanic78%
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Special educationn/a
General education87%
English language learners42%
Non-migrant76%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former53%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students86%
Female94%
Male78%
Black87%
Asian94%
Hispanic78%
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
General education93%
English language learners58%
Non-migrant86%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former68%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 35% 9%
Hispanic 26% 22%
Black 21% 16%
White 15% 52%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Mylo Wright

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

360 Stelton Road
Piscataway, NJ 08854
Phone: (732) 752-1801

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Lake Nelson SDA School
Piscataway Township, NJ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT