Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grandview Elementary School

Public | PK-3 & ungraded | 63 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

It's really good school and my son's teacher is really wonderful and helpful.He also loves going to the school and loves his teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

My daughter was new to this school and so far, she likes the school,teachers,staff,and the principal.They teach very well.I am so happy my daughter is getting a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

My son is in the 3rd grade and he has an excellent teacher. She is very dedicated and put in extra effort to prepare the children for NJ ASK. The school encourages kids to perform better, I also liked the NJ ASK workshop for parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

My son is going to this school for last 2 years and I think this school is doing great. I am not sure how this school is rated 5 out of 10 in this web site. I feel this should be rated atleast 8+. I got no complaints on this school except few minor items. I would like to have the teachers show little more attention on kids about what they are talking in the class room and caffeteria. I feel they seem to pick bad words from other kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2010

The principal, Mr. Baskerville, is really doing a great job. The building is looking better and student test scores are increasing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

My daughter is in the 1st grade and I am very happy with her teacher and the staff there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

My Daughter is in 1st Grade at Grandview, and I help out in the class when I can. I want to say that I am nothing more than pleased with the education my child is receiving at this school since Kindergarten. Her teacher, Miss Quadrino is attentive, bright, and wants nothing more than to see her kids in the class do there very best!!! I am proud to say that my Daughter goes to Grandview. The score I give Grandview is a 10!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

My granddaughter attends and they do many extra curricular activities for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Grandview School is the best school. The teachers are kind, Principal is wonderful and my child is very happy there.His teachers take interest in him and I am sure on other kids too.. I love it since they treat everyone well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

My child attended Grandview last year. Since,we have relocated to another state. My child had the greatest teacher there for first grade. I have to say he is one of the best! Mr. Orasco, thank you for being one of the greatest teachers I have ever met and one that my child simply loved. He did an awesome job with the entire class. If you are a new parent and have him for a teacher, lucky you! He is simply the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

We moved to another state, and there are great things about the new school my son is in, however, my son received a wonderful compliment from his 'new' teacher, and I owe his abilities to his teachers at Grandview. His new teacher told me that ' he is the one of the best writers, if not the best writer, in her class, and he is always willing to answer in class.' Thank you Grandview for giving him a good foundation!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

I also don't understand how this rating was generated. The school is only K-3 so maybe since only the 3rd graders get tested, there isn't enough data???? When I compare the test scores here to those of other schools with more grades, just looking at their 3rd graders, they are on par with schools that have Great Schools ratings of 7.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2008

The rating soemtime make me wonder as to how it is done. The Grandview school in Piscataway is one the best Schools . As a mother of a special education kid, I am so pleased with my son's growth here. He has a wonderful set of teachers , his main teacher, the aide and the Special ed teacher are great.They are caring and ensure that children try their best. The principal is warm and caring and the atmosphere of the School itself is more welcoming. I recommend this School whole heartedly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2008

My granddaughter attends Grandview School. She is int the second grade. She had Ms. Kendall last year and struggled somewhat in class. She is now in Ms. Tranchina's class and seems to enjoy school much more. she is trying harder this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

MyDaughter studie din Grandview in Kintergarten last year.Her Teacher Mrs.Jordon was excellent.Within 3 months my duaghter started writing pargraphs of 4 lines in KG. Also she gave special attention to every student and gave the students advance materails for them to improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

I transfer my son from Private school to Grandview on 2007 and I can't complain with the school and the teachers. Matter fact he was so behind in all the subjects and the teachers at Grandview help him to overcome a lot. I'm very happy with the school in general.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

I am a parent of 2 children who attend this school. I think the principal is very insincere and it is obvious that she does not have a good working relationship with the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

I am a parent with a child in Special Education and my son has improved a lot since then. All the people that are involved in my son's education are doing a good job with him. If other people feel that there is not much parent participation, then parents should make the step to be involved and the school is not stopping anyone from doing so. Let the teachers do their job, everyone that I've met so far has been great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

A new principal was hired in 2006. There are many qualified teachers but the new principal needs to work on her social skills when dealing with parents and children. I wish the school had better security. There are no locks on the door which means that anyone can walk into the school at any time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2005

I have 2 children who attend Grandview school and I am very pleased with what they have learned throughout the year. The teaching staff are experienced and the principal is someone who really cares about the children and the school. I couldn't send my children to a better school. If anyone is thinking about moving to the area this is a great school. You would not be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students76%
Female80%
Male73%
Black63%
Asian89%
Hispanic63%
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Special education33%
General education82%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant76%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former54%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students86%
Female83%
Male88%
Black71%
Asian93%
Hispanic92%
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Special education50%
General education92%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant86%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former62%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 36% 9%
Black 29% 16%
Hispanic 19% 22%
White 13% 51%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr William Baskerville

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

130 North Randolphville Rd
Piscataway, NJ 08854
Phone: (732) 752-2501

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT