Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

An-Noor Academy

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Piscataway

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $270,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,480.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, August 18, 2014

My daughter just completed her 1st grade at AnNoor Academy, and overall I am very satisfied with the school. In my interactions with elementary school teachers, I have found them caring and working hard for students. Besides emails, the school uses TeacherEase web-base app to post homeworks, grades and communicate with parents. The elementary school also has gym classes and other fun extra-curricular activities, such as trips to Crayola Fractory, Pump-it up, Spelling-Bee and Quran Recitation competitions, etc. The school administration does a fairly good job in running daily operations and arranging different events throughout the academic year. The school provides good Islamic environment, where kids learn Islamic manners and memorize Surahs from the Holy Quran, along with secular education. I would recommend this school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2014

I wish It could have a zero star rating option to pick.Worst school year experience.Unprofessional Teachers and Assistant teachers.Lack of knowledge,Too much burden of HW on parents and students.Favouritisim can easily be observed.Stay Away and think twice before putting your child into these schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2014

I HATED THIS SCHOOL! An Noor Academy is the worst private school that you can possibly go to. The teachers are sooooooo mean and they have such low quality things. Do not bring your child to this school. I am very happy that I do not still go there.


Posted December 29, 2013

HORRIBLE!!!!! I would definitely not recomend to go to this school. They need to put more activities and fun things that kids can enjoy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

The school was not a good school. The atmosphere was bad and my child had problems breathing. The floors were dirty and the books are old. The teachers dont teach anything , my child did not learn anything, public school is better than this. There is no cafeteria but sometimes they sell food and it isnt even good. My child onve wanted to get a burger , but they ran out. My child was starving and got sick. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

Clearly the parent who is saying "And there are about 35-40 students in each class without any personalized attention to students who needs special care" is on some strong drugs. The ratio of the students to teacher is FAIRLY small, especially for elementary school. The most students a classroom may have (WITH a teacher's aid) is 23-25. This may not be the best school out there, but over the years it has made immense progress and it is on it's way to great success.


Posted April 29, 2013

I go to 6th grade, and have been going since KG. Last year, I took a break and went to Public School and liked it, but when I came back, everything was so much nicer. I love An-Noor Academy, and will stay until High School. It is simply.... Wonderful!


Posted April 4, 2013

this school is a great many students lerning quran and hafiz geat school from all aspects
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

My Kid is going to KG for this year,completely unsatisfied in each aspect either curriculum,discipline.It is not worthed to paysuch a high amount of Fees and get nothing.Too much stress and work load on parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

My son is attending Kindergarten and I am happy so far, just in few months I have seen a lot changes in his behavior and also how much skills he learned. All his teachers keep very close contacts with the parents via emails and occasionally setup one to one to talk about my son progress. Overall I am happy and I would definetly recommend the school. I am giving it Five Stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

My child has only gone to pre-school and pre-K, but so far, we are happy. The teachers care and provide constant feedback. They aren't lazy and motivated to teach. The pre-school class had 10 with 2 teachers. Pre-K has about 23 with 2 teachers. I can't say for higher grades, but best to speak to the principal, teachers, and parents of students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2010

This is one of the worst schools you can put your kids in. The quality of education is substandard to say the least. And there are about 35-40 students in each class without any personalized attention to students who needs special care. It's only the childrens of parents who make most noise that get most attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

Best Islamic School in NJ
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 52%
Asian 4% 8%
Hispanic 1% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 19%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Islamic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

120a Ethel Rd W
Piscataway, NJ 08854
Phone: (732) 287-1530

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Yeshiva Shaarei Tzion Boys
Piscataway Township, NJ


Timothy Christian School
Piscataway Township, NJ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT