Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Plainfield High School

Public | 9-12 | 1348 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2013

this school is changing , still needs to be more competitive although, people should take it perspective current events and positive ones as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2011

the school is terrible, i am currently attending this school and some of my classes don't even have teachers (english)
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2010

This school is by far the worst I've experienced in my effort to observe classrooms. I personally would never send my children there it is not at all a safe environment as well as the teaching is below average for students that need to succeed. I've seen myself that the children have outdated books that date as far back as the 1970's which is absolutely ridiculous how are children supposed to get a quality education if they are using books from the 70's? They are not allowed to take the books home with them which affect their classroom performance. I would compare the classroom setting to a mild circus there are students talking, running around the classroom, play fighting, doing each other s hair all while the teacher is trying to teach the classroom. I myself find it impossible to learn in that atmosphere!


Posted May 24, 2008

I'm currently a Sophomore and I attend Plainfield High School. The Staff and the Administrators are striving to make a difference. This school has progressed tremendously, it's better than it was 4 years ago. My cousin who graduated Honors in '02 tells me he notices the difference.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 20, 2007

I went to plainfield high school and graduated with honors. I have to say its not a bad school. Is just that the only thing that comes on the news is when something bad happens but, when we excel no one takes notice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2007

This is the worse school, the leadership is horrible.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted April 5, 2007

This school is one of the worst schools that I've seen in a very long time. The leadership...not the teachers, but the leadership is not there. The children run that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students75%
Female75%
Male75%
Black70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Special education41%
General education89%
English language learners52%
Non-migrant75%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former57%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students48%
Female45%
Male50%
Black42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged41%
Special education16%
General education60%
English language learners38%
Non-migrant48%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former41%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

325 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
13%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students13%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black14%
Asiann/a
Hispanic12%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged13%
Non-economically disadvantaged11%
Special educationn/a
General education18%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant13%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 57% 16%
Hispanic 42% 22%
White 1% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

950 Park Avenue
Plainfield, NJ 07060
Phone: (908) 731-4390

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Koinonia Academy
Plainfield, NJ



South Plainfield High School
South Plainfield, NJ


North Plainfield High School
North Plainfield, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT