Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Union County Teams Charter School

Charter | K-11 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Plainfield

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $149,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,350.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 24, 2014

This school is not a safe environment for children to learn. My children will not be returning next year. The regular public schools are safer. I would strongly advise against sending your child here. I strongly recommend that the State Department of Education, or the group with jurisdiction over this institution, conduct a thorough investigation of this school. This school is not at all what it pretends to be. They will have to answer for the many children who have been negatively impacted because of attendance here while they have turned a blind eye. I am truly disheartened because I sent my children here thinking it was a good school and instead they have been bullied and have learned many negative behaviors which I will have to work at undoing over the summer. Send your children elsewhere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2014

I find it disheartening that individuals feel the need to come this site to make a public complaint with very inaccurate information. The community needs to realize what Charter Schools are up against and truly understand that there is always a way to resolve a matter. Become apart of the solution as opposed to undermining and demeaning the work of educators who spend countless hours working to ensure that students receive a quality educaiton. For every complaint listed here, there are certainly 10 parents who can offer positive feedback. My experience has been wonderful. Every school has its ups and downs, but I can certainly say that every teacher and staff member in this school has a heart for kids. They arrive early, stay late and work on Saturdays. Administration is available and return phone calls and emails immediately. Attend a meeting, come to an event, see the good in what is done instead of working to tear apart an institution that upholds student safety has a priority. Visit the school for a day. On May 28th the school is having a Teacher For A Day program, I encourage to walk a day in the shoes of a teacher and I am certain you will have a greater appreciation.


Posted May 14, 2014

My child is in the fourth grade and started in the kindergarten. My child will no longer attend this school. My husband and I are very involved parents and this school just do not live up to what they say they are. Out of the five years my child was there two of the teachers were exceptional! However, they are no longer there. In order to talk to anyone at the school you have to make an appointment even if something serious happend to your child. The things my child learned at this school from other kids that included bad habits are ridiculous. I can control my child but not other kids or what they learn at home. It is not in a safe environment at all. The children do not go outside and play to blow off steam. The staff turns a deaf ear when something happens to a student but when addressed they say they care. NOOOOOOO they do not.........This school is terrible but I tried to give them a chance. Not anymore. The school has progressively worsened thru the years and I only see it getting worse. UC teams really needs to go back to the drawing board and start over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

I think the state needs to come in and close the doors on that terrible school! IF YOU WANT YOUR CHILD TO GET A GOOD EDUCATION, DON'T SEND THEM TO UC TEAMS!!!!!!! YOUR CHILD WILL LEARN MORE AND PERFORM BETTER ON THE STATE TEST BY ATTENDING PLAINFIELD PUBLIC SCHOOLS! UC TEAMS IS DEFINITELY OVERRATED!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

UC TEAMS is a top ranked school and well-deserving of its ranking! My son is currently a student in the K-2 program and he has grown tremendously in character education and academics. Although there are a few new teachers they are mentored and consistently perform professional development and training almost daily. I have personally and professionally seen the growth in the administration and teachers and I am so proud of their First Graduating Class!! Every student earned COLLEGE CREDITS while at UC TEAMS for 2 years at UCC and 100% went on to colleges (some 4-year and some 2-year institutions). I want my children to be there for high school and participate in this REAL college-prep program. No other high school around can compare to this college program only offered at UC TEAMS!!! Keep up the good work!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

I strongly think that parents should think seriously before putting their child in this school. It is a big joke. Look at their first graduation rate! How many of their students have been accepted into prestigious colleges? Parents, I warn you, think before sending your child to this school. They should be investigated!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2013

It took me awhile to decide if I wanted to leave a comment espically after reading some of these replies. I didn't want to be the parent bashing any teacher because I understand that teaching has to be an enormous, thankless job. I truly appreciate the efforts of every teacher, including those at UC TEAMS. I think the bottom line is prents send their child/children to a charter school for the hope of something better. A better circulum, a better atmosphere, a better environment for their child. I mean isn't that why the waiting list is so long.....bc of the hope for something "better". I know that's why I choose this school, and I have been very disappointed. I don't feel like this school lives up to the portrait it tries to display. I'm not pointing fingers but I'm choosing not to send my child back. I don't think he received a quality education last year and I don't think he was in a safe environment. My son told me of countless times of him being unsupervised and fights happening. How he felt nothing was offered to him and that teachers didn't care. I don't think his educational needs were met....if ur child needs any extra help please DO NOT SEND THEM TO UC TEAMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

I am a teacher at this school and I am deeply disturbed by the comments I see on here. Every place of employment has its issues, particularly at the administrative level, particularly in a community where parents are socioeconomically disadvantaged. I come to work everyday positive and determined to help my students learn not only about content, but about life, love, and happiness. I have spent weekends developing creative and engaging lessons for my students, and gaining their respect and trust so I can carry out those lessons in a compassionate learning environment. I speak with the utmost confidence that I achieve this, despite whatever issues or chastisements over dress or blah blah blah, I receive from the administration. I do my job proudly. As for the educator who thinks their collegues come for a paycheck-- your severe misjudgement reflects upon a severe misunderstanding of the teaching profession. If I wanted a paycheck, I would get a job at a real business, a real corporation, and be paid twice as much for half the stress. As for the parents, learning starts at home. It's easy to place blame where one's own lack of endeavors falls, fittingly, short.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 23, 2013

I salute all the teachers and staff at UC TEAMS Ch rter School. I have volunteered on numerous occasions and have seen first hand how hard working the teachers are. It is not the Sol responsibility for a teacher to educate a child about his or her character. This is something that is instilled in a child at a very young age . So for those parents WHO are making all these comments , ask yourself If you ever really took the time to volunteer and See for yourself all the wonderful accomplishments all the teachers made especially in the elmentary level!


Posted June 21, 2013

When you completely understand that learning is the number one priority you will then realize that this school is a top school worthy of praise for all of the positive contributions being made on a daily basis to the success of its students. ALL schools and students have issues. However focus and celebrate the positive! This school has great leadership and administration. With more parental involvement and positive support from EVERYONE (internally and externally) this school can be even greater! Keep up the great work and continue putting the students first! I applaud you!


Posted June 20, 2013

My child has attend UC TEAMS since K. I agree with previous reviews that this has been one of the worst school experiences EVER. The school has a huge issue when it comes to BULLYING, yet it all goes ignored. This charter school is ran more like a BUISNESS than a place for education. This will be my son's last year with UC TEAMS and unfortunately I feel for him - this past school year was a waste. My only regret is that I didn't pull him out earlier. At this point I am 100% willing to take my chance with the Plainfield Public School system. I give them zero stars and I am far from a bitter, uninvolved parent...I am solely a parent seeking the best for their child. At one point I considered this school a beacon of light and hope for Plainfield. Now after years of 1st hand experiencing, I see it as a business across the street from the projects. It is a good question as to why the educators of this school send their children elsewhere. Parents be ware. It's sad because its the children who suffer the most.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

This school is doing great things. I have a son who attends school here and he enjoyed every minutes of it in second grade. The teacher there went above and beyond for him. I'm so grateful for all she has done. Teachers work extremely hard and their job is a demanding one. I salute these teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

As an educator at UC TEAMS I must unfortunately agree with the parents who have said that there is a lot of room for improvement, especially in the elementary grades. The environment lacks the level of attention and order necessary for youngsters to thrive. I became a teacher because I love working with children, but many of my colleagues appear to be here just for the pay check. I would not allow my children to attend this school and I would not recommend it to parents with elementary age children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 19, 2013

We have to remember that we can't solely depend on our teachers to it all, they teach, parent, become social workers, etc. Some parents need to experience the life of a teacher to fully understand the day to day activities as a teacher. Let's not throw the towel in on our teachers. Come and visit the school, be involved, have other parents do the same. School isn't a babysitting service. We must clearly understand that FIRST...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

I rate UC TEAMS Charter School as one of the best in Plainfield. The teachers make the effort to make the environment of learning. I hope the parents will appreciate more what the teachers are doing and become a team with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
26%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students38%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black43%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education38%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant38%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students63%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education63%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant63%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students55%
Femalen/a
Male50%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education65%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant55%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students65%
Femalen/a
Male58%
Black67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education71%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant65%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students70%
Femalen/a
Male83%
Black67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education71%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant70%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students32%
Female33%
Malen/a
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education38%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant32%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students53%
Female67%
Malen/a
Black50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education56%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant53%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students34%
Female35%
Male33%
Black35%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Special educationn/a
General education35%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant34%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students46%
Female47%
Male44%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Special educationn/a
General education47%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant46%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students39%
Female58%
Male26%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education48%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant39%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students26%
Female25%
Male26%
Black22%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education32%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant26%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students80%
Female82%
Male78%
Black79%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special educationn/a
General education80%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant80%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students45%
Female53%
Male39%
Black39%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged43%
Special educationn/a
General education49%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant45%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students68%
Female71%
Male65%
Black67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Special educationn/a
General education71%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant68%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students85%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special educationn/a
General education85%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant85%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students69%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black73%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special educationn/a
General education69%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant69%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students44%
Female20%
Male69%
Black39%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Special educationn/a
General education45%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant44%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 86% 16%
Hispanic 14% 22%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
White 0% 51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 56%N/A51%
Female 44%N/A49%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Sheila Thorpe

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

515 517 West Fourth Street
Plainfield, NJ 07060
Phone: (908) 754-9043

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT