Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Thorne Middle School 3

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
Although I feel that the Administration and the Faculty are above average - I think the school has significant challenges in dealing with the mixture of students that are zoned for Thorne. At this age, kids are trying to push the limits and in the three years that my daughter attended Thorne, I can site at least 5 fights, numerous issues with bullying, inappropriate texts/tweets/instagram posts, etc. The consequence for these actions were mostly "in school suspension". Although, I am sure this is common in most middle schools - it is distracting to the students and makes for somewhat of a scary environment. Knowing what I know now, I probably would have opted to send my daughter to St. Mary's.

Thorne Middle School 1

Posted November 01, 2015
- a student
Thorne was horrible for me. Do not send your children here at all costs. The material taught is 90% useless. The majority of the teachers can't teach, especially the seventh grade honors math teacher who is also mean to kids! It was so bad someone had to right a 7pg letter to the school about it. Anonymous of course, because freedom of speech is not respected. There is always bullying, and fist fights too. They try to cover up the fights too, and if you use your freedom of speech to talk about them you're in trouble. The dress code is sexist, only girls are punished for "being distracting to boys. Someone should teach the boys not to treat the girls like sexual objects but like people. The gym classes are biased towards athletes. Everything is bad. Almost everyone wants to transfer, it's such a horrible place. And oh yeah, if you call it bad, you'll get in trouble. One kid in my grade did it online somewhere, and they got suspended for it. I rate 0/10. 3 years of torture for me.


Thorne Middle School
Grateful to: Student

Posted November 01, 2015
- a student
I am grateful to my friends, for we helped each other survive for three hard years.

Thorne Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted November 01, 2015
- a student
The majority of teachers are decent, and some are very good, but many of them are bad.

Thorne Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 01, 2015
- a student
I say no because right of opinion and freedom of speech is not respected. You will get into trouble if you think the school is bad or show "pride", but there is little reason to have pride in such a horrible place. When there are fights, the school doesn't want people talking about them and tries to cover them up instead of using them as learning experiences, therefore the school is lying and showing an example of not being honest.


Thorne Middle School 1

Posted September 04, 2012
- a community member
I went to Thorne Junior High School in the 1970's and it was the worst school I have ever attended. Its good that now that guidance people listened to the kids, but not back then and you should know Dawn Mc Gee, Sandy Schreppel, Kathleen Hunter, you thought you would bring me down by bullying me and being terrible to me in 7th and 8th grade. I turned out just fine and hopefully you girls are better people then you were in 7th grade. But I doubt it. I have no good things to say about Thorne Middle School. give it a new name but its still the same.

Thorne Middle School 5

Posted December 20, 2009
- a student
I'm currently a student at Thorne, and let me say I absolutely love it. Our teachers are very supportive in our goals. We can enjoy school while learning. And I must say, especially the chorus teacher, Mrs. Mari is very supportive of me, also. The teachers help you with not only school, but private problems also. School is very enjoyable. It's safe, and the students here are well informed about things going on. School spirit plays a big role here at Thorne. On fridays, orange and black clothing fills the school, as our school spirit day. We have sports, clubs, and extracurricular activities. I love Thorne, and I'm sad I'm in eighth grade already, because I'm not ready to leave. I love it here, and I appreciate being a student here.

Thorne Middle School
no rating

Posted April 16, 2009
- a student
great school with experienced teachers. should be 10 out of 10


Thorne Middle School
no rating

Posted April 13, 2009
- a student
Some teachers are horrible to the kids, others are very chill ,and some dont know how to do there job..I think we are treated with little respect and not many privliges, there very up tight here and dont tolerate the simplist of problems even when a parent gets involed they want to do it their way.In lunch they divide us up with a wall and the bathrooms are always locked.Over all, lets just say most of the kids that go here want to transfer..

Thorne Middle School 5

Posted November 17, 2004
- a student
Thorne is an exceptional educational facility. The teachers supply extra help for any student who needs it and they are extremely supportive. The administrative assistants are well organized, helpful and very polite. The principal and assistant principal stick to the rules they've administered and handle violators of such rules with care and concern for their welling being. As a former student at Thorne, I can honestly say that my experiences there are responsible for my determination to reach my goals; goals that were enforced in me during my three years there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thorne Middle School
70 Murphy Rd, Port Monmouth, NJ  07758
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (732) 787-1220
Last modified Thorne Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top