Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Franklin Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 25, 2016
- a parent
My son'r 3rd grade teacher Mrs. Nasser is an exceptional teacher and you can tell she really cares about the student's learning. She created a "book club" for the students who have a higher reading level. I think it takes a very experienced teacher to augment her curriculum to cater to different levels and learning styles in the same classroom.

Franklin Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 25, 2016
- a parent
First Grade homework is a lot but it is a crucial year for reading and writing so I understand reinforcing it at home.


Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2016
- a parent
We have not had a bad teacher at this school. All of them have been great and we have watched our children grow. Our 2 kids have different strengths and challenges. Franklin school's staff has addressed them as individuals- Augmenting the curriculum to challenge them more or getting them the extra attention they need to keep up. In addition the extra curricular activities, specifically but not limited to, the Blue and Gold Club - a Community Service based club run by the school nurse- and the Instrumental and music programs are exceptional!

Franklin Elementary School
Grateful to: Student

Posted June 16, 2016
- a community member
My eldest son for being so courageous and having the integrity to do the right thing, also his best friends for the same .

Franklin Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 16, 2016
- a community member
depending which teacher it is a 50/50 shot you get a teacher there for teaching or a teacher there for a job


Franklin Elementary School 1

Posted June 16, 2016
- a community member
over crowded by other towns using relatives or friends address, stated by a staff member, but no " man power to check addresses" where is the yearly tax increase going ? maybe some should be going towards funding the "man power" also it needs to be updated to show who is actually running the school, and if you have an issue just go directly to the state or child services that way you do not have to keep going over and over the same thing.

Franklin Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 14, 2016
- a community member
It honestly is the luck of the draw in which teacher you will get , if yo get my daughter's 3rd grade teacher this year praise Jesus , if you get her 1st grade teacher pray to Jesus

Franklin Elementary School 3

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
Franklin has had some great challenges in the past. When Mrs. Robinson was promoted to the Principal position, she was thorough, professional, engaged with the children, staff and parents. She had to deal with a lot of drama from politically connected teachers & parent group cliques. Through it all she managed a clean ship. The programs were organized, she was accessible and the schools progress continued to grow in state required & recorded ways. Now that she was transferred to Madison, Franklin is back on shaky ground. A school is only as good as its leadership. There is no doubt that the new school administration cares. However, caring doesn't guarantee progress. The Rahway Superintendent singlehandedly ripped everything good from Franklin to please his followers; 1st VP Ms O'Connell, then Mrs Robinson. While politics prevail, our kids are the ones who suffer.


Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2013
- a parent
The kindergarten class my son is in is wonderful. He is leaps and bounds ahead already.

Franklin Elementary School 1

Posted April 23, 2012
- a parent
I have to agree with the other post. They teach to the test and not much else and it don't seem to mean much since the kids still do poorly on the tests. The staff can be rude the pta is run like a clique and its hard not to feel dissappointed. I wish I could afford to put my kida somewheee else. :(

Nearby schools

Franklin Elementary School
1809 St Georges Ave, Rahway, NJ  07065
(732) 396-1050
Last modified Franklin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top