Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roosevelt Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 65 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

My school is great. We have nice students and amazing teachers and principals. --- Improvements: -Add a page for searching test scores on website -More healthy lunches --- What i like: Our Staff Our Students Our School The lunches The equipment


Posted March 1, 2013

I have two daughters, one is in the middle school but my 9year old is in 3rd grade at Roosevelt and I love it. The staff is outstanding and the principal is very caring and loves all the kids. He goes above and beyond for them. The teachers are amazing and very helpful. I have been with this school for over 9 years and I love the closenes, the dedication and the love they all have for my girls. Cecilia
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

My son is enrolled in the kindergarten program and he has learned so much! His teacher is excellent and the teacher's aide is just as excellent. We haven't had any problems with bullying or behavioral issues in the school. From our experience, it just isn't tolerated. The teachers and front office staff are very nice. The school is clean and well kept. I was concerned because the school rating was so low but that rating isn't a true representation of the school. It's much better than a 3.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2011

So far my son is finding it hard to concentrate on his work because the toleration of bullying, and he's only in kindergarten. How is he suppose to get an good education when the staff doesn't provide a safe and secure place for him to learn. I plan on taking this to the school board is something is not done about it. What do we wait to their depressed and sad and commit suicide to something about it. I am going to take this far as I can take it and so should you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

The administration does not seem to know what to do about the increasing bullying and violence in the school. Some of the younger teachers dress like they are at the club - setting an extremely poor example for our girl. The teachers teach to the NJASK test and not much else gets done. Roosevelt used to be a great school but no longer. The school cries out for strong, competent leadership AND staff diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2010

I have 2 children in this school. One is in special needs classes. The school does not push the SE children to reach their potential until they reach the 5th grade, where the teacher is absolutely FABULOUS! My child started 5th grade with a reading level of 2.6 (meaning 6th month of 2nd grade) and left there this year with an almost 5th grade level. My other child gets bullied non-stop and cries every day to not go to school. The administration's answer is to make the bully apologize! I've been involved in this school for many years so I know all of the staff, some of which I am friends with. I think the violence has gotten out of control and the administration makes no secret of playing favorites (even the kids notice it!) and sweeping bad behavior under the rug. I wish I could afford to move away!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

Our Daughter is enrolled in the kindergarten program. We love the school. The teachers are superior! The principal is wonderful. We feel the program is updated and on target!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I am a parent of 3 children currently enrolled. They love it! I love it! An educational experience is truly what you put into it. My husband and I are very involved in their academic and extracurricular lives, thus they succed. Sadly, the school is old and the upper administration ought to be embarrased. The safety is much better this year than previous years. Lastly, Rahway is a great community for working families and I am honored to reside here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

The school is excellent and safe! The Principal is fair and the teachers are skilled and well educated! Our daughter has learned so much in the preschool program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

The teachers guidance and self development skills in this school are some of the best qualities of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

Our test scores are failing and we're in the first year of a two year grant in partnership with the New Jersey Dept. of education to implement PBSIS project.(positive behavior supports in schools)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

Parent teacher involvement is encouraged. They regularly update parents regarding the student's status.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2005

We are very happy with our child's education at Roosevelt School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students73%
Female82%
Male64%
Black60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Special educationn/a
General education83%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant73%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former73%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students83%
Female87%
Male80%
Black70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
General education93%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant83%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former82%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students59%
Female72%
Male38%
Black52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
White78%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged56%
Special educationn/a
General education74%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant59%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students83%
Female86%
Male77%
Black70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
White89%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Special educationn/a
General education90%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant83%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former75%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students87%
Female95%
Male77%
Black83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
White94%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Special educationn/a
General education94%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant87%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former83%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students55%
Female66%
Male46%
Black56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Special educationn/a
General education76%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant55%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students73%
Female77%
Male69%
Black65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Special education48%
General education86%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant73%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 43% 16%
Hispanic 31% 22%
White 20% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 9%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Rocco Collucci

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

811 St George Ave
Rahway, NJ 07065
Phone: (732) 396-1060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT