Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5 & Ungraded
Public
Red Bank, NJ
Students enrolled: 339

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fairview Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2014
- a parent
Two of our children are in the Fairview school (been there from 2nd grade through 5th), and I applaud the entire staff from the helpful janitor, to the wonderful principle. The teachers have been so professional, and kind to the children as well. There are so many events that take place each month, and there is a very warm family atmosphere. The curriculum is very challenging, and not just centered around state aptitude tests, that just make a school look good. The principle is out every morning directing traffic, and seeing our children into the building safely. also, the parent involvement is second to none. The PTO works hard each year to host events, which ultimately end up benefiting the students, and future students as well. The school nurse is extra special as well. We are so proud to have our children in the Middletown system, and especially in the Fairview Elementary School.

Fairview Elementary School 2

Posted September 28, 2011
- a community member
The curriculum at Fairview was acceptable, but at the same time, there were issues such as cyberbullying and harassment. These all happen in the fifth grade, and these students have the arrogant attitudes. There was profanity heard and there has also been substitute teachers or teachers whom are ignorant. I recall in fourth grade, I asked a teacher something and she was just irritable. A fourth grader? Really? There is a difference between tough and unprofessional. Anyhow, the school has a young principal, whom is a good role model, and nice computer and music teachers. However, some of the teachers have been horrible in the past, and are just unprofessional. I do grade schools very strictly, but this one has room for improvement.


Fairview Elementary School 3

Posted August 10, 2011
- a community member
Over the course at my years of Fairview School, I thought it was great. Nice teachers, but some of them, particularly the 5th grade teachers, have been known to treat students like they are going into college. They put too much pressure on them. Even though it helps the student excel, there is a more helpful way of doing this. Also, I noticed that one teacher has said a slightly profane word when a girl had her pencil box disorganized. This was unnecessary and they were a third grade teacher. Other times I would see that some teachers would just be very tired of students and would just want them to be quiet. Otherwise, the school has a friendly principal who is an excellent young role model and the computer and music teachers are very nice.

Fairview Elementary School 4

Posted June 07, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is graduating from Fairview this year and I must say that I wish I could take the faculty with us to Bloomfield Middle School. My 6th grader has excelled throughout her time at Farview and she was also challenged by the teachers. I'm grateful for her having a good starting point and that was at Fairview. The person who complained about not being allowed in the school. It's my hope they continue to protect the children and follow school protocol.

Fairview Elementary School 4

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
My daughters would still be in this school if we had not moved due to a job in another state. We found the school to be excellent with the exception of some limitations placed on it by space constraints such as rolling cart library, etc. Our 5th grader and our Kindergartener were both challenged and excelled under the guidance of their teachers.


Fairview Elementary School 1

Posted September 04, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Fairview Elementary School 1

Posted September 03, 2009
- a parent
My son just started here and I'm very disappointed. The school is very disorganized, and just not put together very well. The drop off and pick up is a mess and children are just left to fend for themselves. Parents aren't allowed into the building except for the select few PTO. I'm trying to find a private school that will take my son b/c I do NOT trust this school with my child.

Fairview Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2008
- a parent
My son attended 1st Grade at Fairview this year and he excelled in academics. The new principal is young and focused on improving the school each year. The PTA is very active and always there to support the teachers and students. I would recommend this school to any family or friend!


Fairview Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fairview Elementary School
230 Cooper Road, Red Bank, NJ  07701
(732) 747-3308
Last modified Fairview Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fairview Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top