Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Red Bank Primary School

Public | PK-3 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2012

As a parent and an educator, I am so happy that we choose Red Bank Primary School over other schools in our town. Although other schools test scores are higher than ours..everyone needs to look at the bigger picture.. Our school is diverse both economically and racially... to compare our schools on the basis of tests scores is ridiculous. My Son came into kindergarten with very little reading skills and left reading on at least a second grade level. My once shy little girl who has an articulation disorder is now doing wonderfully thanks to the amazing services Red Bank primary school provides and her amazing kindergarten teacher. As a special education teacher [with over 15 years of experience] and a developmental therapist I can not praise this school enough. I urge everyone who has a school age child to at least be open minded enough to look at our school...and not ridiculously biased test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2012

We are very happy with our decision to remain with the rbps. All of the teachers we have come in contact with over the years are smart, dedicated and very happy. They meet and exceed everything i have expected for my children's education. It may appear that the needs of our children vary greatly, but what i do know for 100 percent is that the majority of K students leave reading. It is impressive considering the differences in home/native languages. Additionally with the support of such a well known and respected superintendent i feel so lucky, nothing will get past her and her dedication. The parents that i know in the school are raising very well mannered and behaved kids. We all come from varied backgrounds but want the best for our kids and that uniites us. Additionally there is a group of highly dedicated parents really behind the rbps and making it the best it can be. If you have any doubts, please visit the school and meet the staff and students and learn about the curriculum and all of the programs including strings, theatre, arts and more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

As a mother of a child in Kindergarten at Red Bank Primary I have only the highest praise for this school ! my daughter is thriving at school and is reading at a first grade level. She is happy and loves school. She is challenged with her school work and we see what work she is given every day and her Dad and I are very impressed. The teachers keep in constant contact with us and we feel such a part of her overall education. I know this school as received a bad reputation in the past... people need to STOP living in the past and LOOK at what Red Bank Primary has achieved NOW it is a WONDERFUL school and is giving our daughter a WONDERFUL education !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers and other staff are very dedicated and enthusiastic about teaching the children.


Posted December 19, 2008

We have been very happy with the teachers and administrators here. They have been very flexible in accommodating our kids needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

As the mother of a kindergardener, I am happy to say that my once shy little girl is thriving in her red bank primary school class. She didn't have the full day pre-school experience that most of the others had so I was worried as to her learning as quickly. Its only January and her reading progress has really surprised me. In a class of 17, she is still nurtured by her 2 teachers, Frazee/Gallagher. I feel satisfied that she is in good hands while away all day. The only complaint I have so far about the school overall is that they have very limited access to a playground. My active child is still exhausted after a full day and all in all I thik the whole experience has so far been positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

As a parent and an educator, I find that the Red Bank Primary School is one of the best schools around. The school provides my daughter with a diverse mix of students,and also has one of the best curriculums I know of. The school has a balanced Literacy program that has sent my daughters test scores into the top 99%. The math program is also excellent as well as the fine arts. I feel extremly lucky that my daughter is attending the school, and would reccomend this school over any other school in Red Bank!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2004

I love this school from the school were my child came from she learn nothing there. the teachers are best. my child loves being there also. she told her self. its the best. it was hard at the being but she has found place for self. I'm happy and so is my child. We need more teachers like all over NJ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2004

just a great place for kids. none better. this staff really goes the extra mile, again and again. administrators work well with all. teachers work all summer in programs to help learners. tje place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students50%
Female57%
Male41%
Black65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Special education23%
General education65%
English language learners24%
Non-migrant50%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former35%
Limited English Proficient Former67%

Math

All Students58%
Female60%
Male55%
Black77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Special education46%
General education70%
English language learners32%
Non-migrant58%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former39%
Limited English Proficient Former58%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 74% 22%
Black 13% 16%
White 12% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 9%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Erin Mulligan- Pierre

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

222 River Street
Red Bank, NJ 07701
Phone: (732) 758-1530

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT