Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5 & Ungraded
Public
Ridgewood, NJ
Students enrolled: 335

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Orchard Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
I attended Orchard School when Dr. Abate was principal. He actually tutored me in math before the school day would start. I remember him being patient, kind, and very funny. Would always make us laugh! My daughter is now a 2nd grader at Orchard and we are very happy there. Although Dr. Abate has retired, the school is now run by Mrs. Loonam, who is just as amazing and wonderful as her predecessor. Kudos to them both!

Orchard Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2013
- a community member
If anyone has personal information to share about your time with Dr. Abate, Please let me know. I am his son and would love to share your stories and experiences with him. "BrianonFB" jut like that. There are even pictures of him.


Orchard Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Orchard Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
A fine neighborhood school. Both of my daughters began their public schooling at Orchard School. They each had a great foundation at Orchard and this legacy continues.

Orchard Elementary School 5

Posted September 13, 2009
- a parent
Wonderful, small community school with a big heart. Perfect combination of academic and social education. Very innovative, individualized curriculum and a very cohesive staff which fosters a tremendous sense of community amongst the children.


Orchard Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 26, 2009
- a student
Yes! Cheers to Dr. Charles Abate -- surely one of the best principals ever!! -student from the eighties...

Orchard Elementary School 5

Posted April 01, 2009
- a parent
High academic standards, caring teachers and faculty, inspiring environment, great parents, just a great school. Can't say enough.

Orchard Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 05, 2009
- a parent
My three children attended Orchard; one is finishing up her 5th grade year. Orchard truly has high academic standards. The exception is the TERC program in math. TERC a/k/a Investigations is one of the worst reformed math programs in existence today. Our asst superintendent of curriculum favors it and it has really lowered the standards for Orchard children in math. With a new principal, TERC has been side lined. Hopefully not too much damage was done.


Orchard Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 07, 2008
- a parent
The constructivist math program, TERC, that was implemented in the school several years ago has brought the level of education down significantly. It is said what has happened to this school over the last several years, as well as many of the schools in Ridgewood.

Orchard Elementary School 5

Posted April 04, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Orchard Elementary School
230 Demarest St, Ridgewood, NJ  07451
(201) 670-2730
Last modified Orchard Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Orchard Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top