Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1-4 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

I am very proud to share that our mantra is working towards excellence in school (W.E.S.). We strive to nurture our students, meet their needs, cultivate their interests, and help them grow academically and socially. We recognize that each child is an individual and each brings unique talents to our learning community; that's what makes WES so special. At WES, children come first!
June 04, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Washington Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
A caring school! Children learn skills for the future in school and life. A school to be proud of.

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
I am very proud to share that our mantra is working towards excellence in school (W.E.S.). We strive to nurture our students, meet their needs, cultivate their interests, and help them grow academically and socially. We recognize that each child is an individual and each brings unique talents to our learning community; that's what makes WES so special. At WES, children come first!
Posted June 04, 2014


Washington Elementary School 4

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
This school has a new principal. She is doing a good job. She cares about her students the staff and the parents. It is going to take time to change this school.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2013
- a parent
My child s teachers are wonderful. He is in an inclusion class. The teachers are organized and help my child to the best of his ability. He will be moving up the LVM soon and I hope that he can have teachers that will treat him and teach him the way they are this year. We have been in this school for over 10 years and love it.

Washington Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a community member
There is a genuine interest in the children


Washington Elementary School 2

Posted May 01, 2007
- a parent
Terrible School. I agree with the above poster. Your child would be better off learning at home than to attend Washington.

Washington Elementary School 3

Posted August 15, 2004
- a parent
The school can really use some improvements. Aides in the class rooms would really be helpful to the teachers and students. My child is in their last year here and /I am really glad if I had a choice 'I would transfer but I don't have a choice.

Washington Elementary School 1

Posted June 21, 2004
- a parent
I definitely agree with the other parent, this school system needs some serious help. Most of the teachers are there for the paycheck and do not give seem to care if the kids are learning or not. At this point I am so frustrated I am looking into selling my house and get out before another child gets caught in this horrible system.


Washington Elementary School 1

Posted June 02, 2004
- a parent
If you are considering enrolling your child at htis school...don't do it you would be better off keeping your kid at home and allowing a pcakof wolves to teach him or her...25 kids crammed into a classroom (kindergarden) no aid the teacher looks exhausted and cleraly freustrated by 10:30 no regular recess they complaint its too difficult to take taht many kids out at a time, duh! Principal has the nerve to tell me well by law we aren't required to have an aid wiht under 26 kids...not required and unwilling are two different things, no after school activities no pre or after care its a waste land [parents had to complaint o get them to keep bathroooms clean yet every other day its some fundraiser or school assembly. I'd rather my kid learn at school not go to a yo-yo assembly...stay away at all costs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Washington Elementary School
50l Washington Avenue, Roselle, NJ  07203
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (908) 298-2072
Last modified Washington Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top