Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Roselle Catholic High School

Private | 9-12 | 469 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Roselle

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $133,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2013

What a great school! I currently have a Freshman at RC and have family members that are currently enrolled and graduated RC. With that said, we did look at other schools and even though we have family at RC it was entirely my son's choice to go there. I have never experienced a school that always has their doors open (literally) to their students. My son is always doing something at the school. The teacher's and staff are very involved in different extra curricular activities whether coaching or watching one of the basketball games. They are always at the school...it amazes me! It is definately like a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

Roselle Catholic is an amazing school it offers great education and it feels like a home . I am a freshman right now and i guarantee you that i will come back next year
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2008

Roselle Catholic offers a lackluster education. If you are an average student, the school will deny you the education you deserve. If you are an AP student, they will teach you only what you need to pass the test; when you enter college, you will have an insufficient background in almost every subject area. Their sports teams are decent, as they pour the majority of their funding into athletics. Literary, music, and theatre activities are basically nonexistent because such an extreme focus is placed upon sports. The family environment does exist and is a really nice addition, but the cons so heavily outweigh the pros that I would by no means recommend a Roselle Catholic education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2006

Roselle Catholic High School is an excellent school. It is true the smarter kids excel more than the average student, but that is the same in every school. There are plenty of activites to participate in, a lot of sport teams, and a ton of clubs. I guarantee you will fall in love with Roselle Catholic as I have.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2005

I am a sophmore at Roselle Catholic and i will not be returning next year. The school itself is ok but the students need to stop thinking they are tupac and biggie because there not. Like a previous review pretaining to level 2 courses that is so correct to the t. I had recived great grades last year for algebra and my teacher told me i was recomended for honors. my average for the year was a 98, the best in the class and others went into honors but they thought i wasnt right for it?! Also I have seen the principal of this school a total of 8 times in the total of 2 years (needs to show up more and interact). Most teachers are ok but others need to learn how to teach for real! My advice is if you are from public school this school isn't-the-best-choice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2004

RC is a good school if you are a straight honors/AP type kid. If you are just an avg. student,you aren't able to excell as much as the honors kids. Your GPA is lower because you are only a Level two type student and not a level 3 or 4. Once you are deamed a level 2 student, it is very hard for you to become a 3 or 4 (no matter how hard you try). In a way, the school puts you 'short of excellence'. The environment is great the school is like one big family where everyone knows your name. Academics and extra curricular activites offered are great but shoot for being above a level 2 student and the school will take you places. If you can't get there good luck in life at least RC will give you some kind of an education...needs to prep senior students for college better.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 10, 2004

Roselle Catholic High School is an absolutely amazing place to get an education. The faculty, staff and administration truly care about the development of the students. It's a high school like no other in NJ.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2003

Roselle Catholic is a wonderful School. My two children went there and I found it to be a warm and caring enviornment, as well as a place for a great education. It was one of the best choices I ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Roselle Catholic is an okay school. I feel the quality of the education is based on who you are and who you know. Overall I feel that my children have done well here. But, I think they challenge the 'good' student and the average student gets lost in the mix.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

Roselle Catholic is a great school, I could never picture myself at any other school. The faculty care about the students and are always there for them. Roselle Catholic is a wonderful school where friends are easy to make with the variety of trips, sports and activities.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 51%
Black 27% 16%
Hispanic 22% 22%
Two or more races 7% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Newark
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

350 Raritan Road
Roselle, NJ 07203
Phone: (908) 245-2350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Roselle Park High School
Roselle Park, NJ


Jardine Academy
Cranford, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT