Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8 & Ungraded
Public
S Orange, NJ

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Orange Middle School 5

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
We have been pleasantly surprised with this school. The teachers are reachable and 6th graders have anouth time and guidance to adapt into the new system. My 6th grader transferred from a private school environment and I confess that I was nervous about the transition, but so far, have had only good experiences.

South Orange Middle School 1

Posted July 10, 2014
- a parent
The overall experience was very poor as was the quality of the education. Our son is on the autism spectrum. The school environment is not tailored to him. His class included children with a range of abilities, he was expected to travel and function w/in the everyday hustle and bustle of the school, and his homeroom teacher did not communicate during the year. Our son did not get any homework & he lost an entire academic year here. There was no transition prep for him into this school which is vital for him. The one opportunity we had to meet with his homeroom teacher he basically explained that this was a life skills based program that would not focus too much on academics. The district's special education services while he was in elementary were wonderful, he attended a great school with a great teacher. Our issues started at the middle school and their inability to accommodate a child with his needs. We were diligent in seeking out a private school that was more geared for his needs, but his case manager needed a great deal of pushing on our end to get results.


South Orange Middle School 5

Posted November 26, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school my daughter loves it. The teachers and staff are very supportive. I do not have any complaints.

South Orange Middle School 4

Posted February 09, 2012
- a parent
The school has good teachers and concern parents. I had one child complete the eight grade and one currently attending and it has been a positive experience. The class sizes are not too large.

South Orange Middle School 1

Posted December 04, 2011
- a parent
SOMS has been an incredible disappointment to our family on many levels. There are some great teachers, but in the classes of some other teachers, our child receives homework assignments that leave us scratching our heads and wondering, "What's the point?" We had hopes that under the new principal, things might improve. Rather the changes that have been made this year have been even more alarming. Especially troubling is added busywork in the classrooms and at home. We had hoped that, under the new principal, a more progressive approach would be adopted. Indeed, there was much hoopla upon his arrival to indicate such would be the case. Instead, we find the school further mired in rubrics and less interested in accurately assessing whether students are truly learning what they need to learn to be successful individuals. On a bright note, the arts and music programs continue to thrive. Hopefully, that will continue, as those programs are among the few areas less governed by misguided measuring sticks and in which the students seem to be learning valuable life skills and acquiring knowledge that will serve them beyond the next round of standardized tests.


South Orange Middle School 1

Posted February 06, 2011
- a parent
Since the first day of school in 2010 SOMS didn't respond well to a transportation blunder. They also did not relay an important message and as a result my child was not at the designated pick up. In addition administrators have questionable priorities in regards to student discipline. Disciplining a child twice for the same occurrence is not setting high expectation and high performance.

South Orange Middle School 5

Posted December 08, 2010
- a parent
South Orange Middle School is where our kids matured and were able to nurture great freindships in a warm and caring environment. The principal Mr. Smith is very caring and his efforts to know every child's name reflects his going above and beyond to help solve any issues that arise. The staff is dedicated and caring as well and the teachers are selected for their ability to engage and incite learning in these challenging pre teen years. There have been just 2 or three teachers here we did not care for, but this does not diminish the wonderful instructors who have guided our kids. If you ask me they should get rid of Home Ec and replace it (and the instructor) with Environmental Studies. WE are very happy at SOMS and could not have asked for a better experience.

South Orange Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 16, 2010
- a community member
The dedicated staff creatively and consistently works with their students to provide a quality education.


South Orange Middle School 5

Posted November 02, 2009
- a student
I Love my School it is great!!! Everything about it is perfect and I recomend it to any child moving to the district!!

South Orange Middle School 5

Posted September 23, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers, great administrators and fun and interesting class projects. .Also, the best Middle School Plays! By the way the school is in South Orange, not Orange.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Orange Middle School
70 North Ridgewood Road, S Orange, NJ  07079
(973) 378-2733
Last modified South Orange Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Orange Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top